Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-01-17 - 11:45 a.m.

Trying for a Different Spin on Today

I have another entry for today.... it's here

Not wanting to be at work today, I've been doing some websurfing and I *think* I may hav come up with at least part of what Sphygo is.... I think that he may have some Harrier in him. He at least fits the profile and his coat color would be close... he's certainly NOT a beagle mix.

Here's what I found on Harrier's...

Harriers are affectionate and so friendly they greet strangers as if they were old friends. They love children but may sometimes be too playful for toddlers, knocking them down in their enthusiasm.

Harriers are great for families that play hard. Exercise is very important (if it is lacking, these dogs may become howlers, barkers, or diggers).

Harriers get along with other dogs but if not raised with cats will sometimes chase them. They usually do well in obedience training, although they can become distracted by different scents.

Appearance

The harrier looks like a small English foxhound. Its coat is short, dense, and glossy. It is seen in all colors, especially black, tan, and white, evenly distributed.

Grooming & Exercise Needs

The harrier needs to be brushed once a week.

Long walks are required and runs in the country are recommended for this high-energy dog. Harriers are wonderful companions for joggers, hikers, bikers, and horseback riders--they can run all day long.

Origins

The harrier was developed in England in the 12th century to hunt in packs for hare and fox.

Special Alerts

The harrier thrives in the country, but its tracking instinct makes it unsuitable for city life or even life in the suburbs if there is only a small yard.

And, last but not least, here's what at least a tri-color harrier looks like...


Compare it with pictures of the furfamily (links to the left) and give me your honest opinion :-) Also, I've recently discovered the joys of rawhide bones. Honey considered them beneath her and wouldn't deign to even look at them, much less chew on them. Last night, I was warping my loom for my love's blue scarf (for rapier); and Sphygo was wandering around looking for attention. Alan was busy with the playstation and I had my hands full with the loom. Suddenly, I heard the sound of splintering wood... I was aghast when I realized what he was chewing on.... My love had given me an 8 cone yarn holder for christmas. Each cone sits on a wooden peg that's put into a board, the yarn runs from the cone up through small eye hooks. It's really ingenious. Well, I put it on the floor so I could move my loom to warp the back end and not worry about knocking it over. Well, Einstein (not me or my love); decided one of the pegs looked like something he just had to have. He pulled one of the pegs out of the board (it didn't have a cone on it); and started to happily chew on it like never before (he actually got to one other just after christmas).... I got it away from him, but the damage had already been done (at least to one end). I've put in a plaintive plea with my love to stop at the PetSmart on the way home to get him some chew-appropriate things or there won't be much left of the yarn holder. If he has something to chew on, then he's not bored and we're not constantly having to correct him. Honey... well she's still Honey. She growls at him, and she picks on him. But there isn't open warfare, so that's progress, I guess.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com