Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-12-18 - 10:30 a.m.

Christmas... Wheeeeeee

I changed my mind.. wow.. what a shocker I know... I had written this lovely diatribe about not having the feeling of Christmas, and now I'm erasing some of it. I'm leaving other parts, you'll just have to live with not really knowing which is which :) >

Christmas MemoriesI've been thinking a lot about what Christmas was like as a kid.. the Christmas Eve party we always used to have. We'd decorate the entire house, right down to a cardboard fireplace for stockings and Santa Claus. We'd have an Open House sort of Christmas, folks would be coming and going, gifts would get exchanged and there would be food and snacks. The tree would in the corner of the living room, and the lights would be lit and everything was all sparkly. All og my close friends would be close by and we'd play with our new stuff (and our old stuff). I'd get to stay up til I practically dropped from exhaustion, then I'd get packed off to bed. I'd try to get to sleep, but the excitement was just too much. I'd stay in my bed with the covers up around my chin, just STRAINING to hear the hooves on the rooftop (yes, I believed the whole thing...), I never heard the hooves, but I did hear "christmas bells". That was enough to make me shut my eyes tight (You didn't want to be awake when Santa came or you wouldn't get any presents) and woudln't you know it, I'd drift off to sleep.

I remember all of that like it was yesterday; but so much has changed. It's all gone now, and I've grown up. I'm not sure I like that, though. They're great memories, and I wish I could have them on video to share them with my love... but I can't. Those will have to be mine and mine alone.

I'm not sad, I'm just resigned. There is no cheer and excitement. It feels elusive, I know it's out there, but it's just beyond my grasp. I can get my fingertips around it, but I can't coax it into my hand.

Maybe it's the fact that I've been listening to Christmas music before we ever had Thanksgiving dinner.

I really think it's the fact that we didn't do any decorating around the homestead for Christmas this year. Nope, not even a tree. With the new dog, and since we're going to my in laws, we didn't see the need.

I'm really thinking about making a gingerbread house next year and doing the whole decorating thing. We don't have a lot of decorations, but I think I might spend my time making some decorations and ornaments.

Gingerbread Houses in Perpetuity Does anyone out there know if it's possible to use varnish or shellac or something to "seal" a gingerbread house well enough to use it from year to year, or is that just too gross to contemplate?

Gifts from the heart Has anyone seen the new Staples commercial, the one where a woman is standing beside a slide projector showing all of the handmade gifts she had made over the years that weren't what the people wanted... she apologized for giving a handmade gift instead of something from a store (i.e. something technology based over handmade). What lamebrain joke of a human being came up with THAT? Since when it is an apologizeable offense to give someone a gift you worked your butt off to make. Okay... so it's not a printer or a computer or some other gift.. but it's from the heart and it shows the person you're giving it to how much they mean to the recipient. Get a grip! I'd much rather have a handmade gift (even if it's not perfect); it's not the gift it really IS the thought that counts.. PERIOD.

Patience Can someone explain why we have more patience for our fellow man during the Christmas season than the rest of the year? It's a thought.....

With that in mind, here is one gift from me to you.. the words to my most favorite Christmas Carol. No, they're not my words.. they're just my wish for everyone... and not just during the Christmas season.

Let there be Peace

Let there be peace on Earth
And let it begin with me
Let there be peace on Earth
The peace that was meant to be

With God as our Father
Brothers all are we
Let me walk with my Brother
in perfect Harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now
With every step I take
Let this be my solemn vow.

To take each moment
And live each moment
In Peace Eternally.

Let there be peace on earth
and Let it begin with me.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com