Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-10-10 - 5:43 p.m.

An Oath Given and Received

What a weekend (if only I could type, I could do it justice!)

We got to site around 6pm and got our end of the world set up and our compadres that were camping with showed up around 10:30 I think. We hit the bed at 12:30, and they were still setting things up, but we just couldn't stay awake any longer (I was up until 2AM Friday morning working on documentation and then got back up at 6AM; so I was beyond exhausted.

Saturday dawned bright and beautiful, evn if it was foggy. I love that event because of the early morning fog... it sort of softens the edges of everything and if you sit in the quiet surounded by pavilions of different sizes and shapes it really feels like the best part of the middle ages (okay, it feels that way for me, anyway).

I met up with Emma Friday night and got the hand towel and I put it in the Laurel Prize Tourney with the full set of documentation; to get comments. I got a few and some prezzies that are wonderful! That's always a good part of A&, it's really neat when people offer comments and critiques (and when people you know tell you they like you! :-) I wasn't able to sit with my entry from 1-300 because I was busy teaching my Ikle Loom Obedience class. It went really well, and I got to see two different types of inkle looms that I'd never seen before. That's always interesting.

At 3:30, I picked up my entry and raced back to our camp to try and get ready for our little ceremony. I was beyond wiped and tired and the yogurt I'd had for lunch just wasn't cutting it.

Izzy and Sorcha went off to shop and I volunteered to used a melon baller and attack the watermelon and cantaloupe. I must admit, that I ate a tiny bit of the watermelon as I scooped and it was the difference between night and day.

Several people gathered (Mistress Margret and Elizabeth and several of our friends through the society showed up... I was more than a little surprised)... Gorm and I were called forward. He said his part and Arradd said his and then it was my turn... we had 12th Century oaths of fealty ready, and I had mine written out on a cue card, but when it came down to it, I just couldn't read someone else's words. Fealty to someone is important, and while that was what we had planned, I needed to say my "piece" from my heart. It was an emotional thing for me to look at them both and say what I said (nope, I'm not going to repeat it here, it's a personal thing) but it meant a lot to me. I hope my off the cuff comments didn't ruin anything for the two of them since it wasn't a "period" oath. I looked at the paper, and I just couldn't. I'd waited for a long time to give my Oath to the right person and I wanted it to be special.

Everything went wonderfully well, the Oaths were given and received and we each got a lovely green liripipe hood with acorns on the bottom of the pipe. They were just the coolest thing! After it was over, we received many hugs and congratulations from our friends and we were welcomed into the group with open arms and lots of warmth. They're all great people, even down to the littlest one... they're all very awesome people!

We had a wonderful CT dinner and then we were off to court... where someone had the audacity to play with our liripipe hoods. They first tried to tie us together (Gorm and I were sitting side by side) and then he tried to play withe acorn on the pipe. That's when I leaned back and said "Touch NOT the acorn or it will go VERY badly for you," and I meant it. He let go of the pipe and that was pretty much the end of the liripipe incident.

We came back to our camp after court, received more well wishes and we sat around and talked and people came to our litle camp and talked some more. I saw Emma and I gave her back her towel with my profuse thanks for the loan. I also gave her a copy of the documentation that I used for the Laurel prize tourney, I thought that was only the proper thing to do, since she was so generous in loaning it to me. She and I talked for a bit and it was really nice!

It wasn't until I came back to our camp that I realized that I had given her my prized copy of the CA that had the Perugia Towel information that I needed if I was ever going to create one.... I'm hoping someone else has a copy I can borrow, or perhaps the online store will have a copy of that one.

After that, I was more than a little tired. The day was good, although I was sufficiently worn out. I crawled into bed and I was asleep in no time, even through the drums and dancing and singing right next door (thank God for Sleep Eze)...

All in all it was a GREAT weekend and I'm very happy to consider myself a vassal of House Ffestiniog



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com