Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-08-08 - 10:50 p.m.

Good news and not so good news (but if could have been much worse)!

We had a busy day today. We're about 99% ready. It's been a great weekend, but my sister called me today, with good and not so good news. The good-ish news first. SHe apologized for her tirade earlier in the week. I accepted it, but I'm still wary and I will always be. Some things will never change.

The not so good news came from my sister as well. It seems that my nephew (the one in Afghanistan) was sitting around bored and decided to volunteer to go out on patrol with a group of his buddies. Shortly after they had left, they were attacked and three of his buddies died in the melee. He was the only medic on the team and he had to perform CPR on one and do his best for the other two; in short there just wasn't enough of him to go around and he felt responsible that he couldn't do more. He felt like the rest of the group that were there expected more of him. . The rest of the group that went out made it back alive, but my nephew is torn up, this was his first "real" contact with something he couldn't save. As my sister told him, he did his best, but he's not God. There are some things that no matter how trained you are and how good you are, you can't save everyone. He cried and asked my sister how do you deal with the fact that Those three people who died had friends who watched them die. All she could say was... you deal with it one day at a time, and you find people who understand to talk to to get through it as best you can.

I've never been in a situation exactly like his, but I remember the first person who died in my care many years ago when I was a basic first aider with the rescue squad. It's not something I'll ever forget.

When she called me, she was still crying. I tried to comfort her as best I could. She was scared. Scared for her son and scared for herself. All I could tell her was that he was safe and okay, and there are people there he could talk to who would help him through this.

He is a man with a tender spirit and a great heart who wants to do some good. I am concerned how all of this will change him.

If you pray, please pray for my nephew (Matthew) and for the families of those who died this morning. If you don't pray, send a good thought. They can use it right about now.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com