Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-07-23 - 9:12 p.m.

Thanks Dad!

This has been one weird day... As I told you this morning, I had a call from my brother yesterday and he needed my address for some odd reason.... I did call him back and I found out why... and I'm still shocked to say the least.

Let me start at the beginning... when my parents were alive they had a post office box that most of the mail went to, but some of it came to the house. When my father died and my mother decided to go live with my sister they closed the P.O. Box and put a forward on the mail. Seems normal and reasonable... well, it turns out that there was some mail that hadn't been converted to my sister's address and it had been sent to the PO box and it bounced back to the company, so since they had no forwarding address, they just held the mail.

Well, someone we know from a LONG time ago who worked at the company was looking through the file and found a phone number scribbled in the margin on a page and it was a local call. Figuring he had nothing to lose, he called the number and it was my brother.

The man on the other end of the phone was my father's investment counselor. It appears that when my mother decided to liquidate my father's stocks and bonds, a small bit got missed.... something to the tune of about $30K. Yes boys and girls, that wasn't a typo. The terms of her estate are that anything left over is to be split between her surviving children... my brother wanted my address so he could notify the investment company so the funds could be dispersed.

There's four of us, so that's something close to $7,500 for each of us. Now, I have no idea who's entitled to a portion of the money... because I have no idea how my Mom's estate was handled (my brother was the executor). I've been told that if the estate had to more debts than money, those who didn't get their money could come back and try to claim some of these "newfound" assets.

My mother thought she had liquidated everything; but this missed her somehow.

I'm not holding my breath.. but you know... after 11 years of thinking that I had nothing to keep from either of my parents, I find that there's a real possibility they left me more than I ever realized. Even years after they're both gone, they found a way to take care of their youngest :-)

All I can say is... THANKS Dad!

It's not the money.. it's just that after all this time, when I think that I'm retty much out there by self with only my husband, I get a lesson that even though they're gone, I'm not forgotten. I got a message that tells me that my father loved his kids enough to try to protect them, and even though my mother didn't understand that, he did his best and then some.

Thank you Dad.. I really hope you're as proud of me as I am of YOU.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com