Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-07-08 - 10:45 p.m.

Inaccuracies and Goodbyes

Hiya folks.. I've been trying to update, but well, since i'm not a member anymore, I keep getting that annoying notice thingy telling me I have to wait.

Anyways... tonight is a night of mixed feelings and I'm not really sure how to process them.

Many of you know that my nephew will be leaving soon for a two year duty in Afghanistan... well he leaves tomorrow. I talked to ym sister via email today and she mentioned that there was an article in the local paper about the deployment and she said that Matt (my nephew) was interviewed for the article and he talked about a small bible my father had when he was in the military (evidently, she gave it to him). I was a bit upset (and jealous, to be completely honest) because she has most of those types of things (the ones that have sentiment attached to them) and she feels it's her right to give them to whomever. This bible was one that my father got just after he joined the military. He not only read it, he studied it. He kept in the bottom drawer of his bureau, with a baby jar full of old coins from his travels with the Navy and then later, in his desk drawer, not in his pocket on a daily basis. It was well warn, some passages outlined and annotated. It was held together with duct tape. And now my nephew who is leaving has it. I have said that is was appropriate for him to have it, but what I really want is to snatch it away from him and keep it for myself; because I have so very little from either of my parents in the way of memorabilia. I have my memories, but that's about it. But that would be wrong. It will be a comfort to him when he's over there, away from home for practically the first time. He was very close to my dad, his grampa and it would comfort my dad to know that Matt goes with the Word in his left front pocket.

Anyway, here is url to the article: a href="http://www.winchesterstar.com/TheWinchesterStar/040708/Area_guard.asp>The Winchester Star

I'm also unhappy because the article was not just inaccurate, it's flat-out wrong. The mentioned my Dad in the article and the "action" that my dad saw in World War II.. well, he was in the military at the time, but I don't think he saw all that much action. The article says my father carried that bible until the day he died.. I know that's not accurate either. It also says that he died recently... I guess 11 years is recent.. right? It certainly makes for good copy though.

I won't say anything about those things not being truthful, if it gives my sister or Matt some measure of feeling close to his grandfather, I won't take that away from him.

But I hurt today. I know my Dad would be so proud of his grandson, both of them. ANd I know he'd be scared for Matt all at the same time. I hurt because I wish that for once, when I think of my Dad I wouldn't feel like it just happened. I try to be happy and thankful for what I have now, but it's really hard. When I read things "who died recently" it's like a fresh cut to an already deep wound.

Hopefully Matt will be back soon and all will be okay... and maybe someday I can stop feeling like this.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com