Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-05-31 - 4:28 p.m.

Sapphire Joust - What a Weekend!

Well, Sapphire is OVAH!

I wasn't instrumental in anything, but if the degree of my exhaustion is any indication, those responsible for that event should be in a coma by now.

It was a great event! Everything went according to a divine plan and it at least appeared smoothly to the naked eye.

Rivers Point is now a full Canton.. YEAY! We received a wonderful gift from Sudentur shortly after court and in our campsite... two handpainted banners.. one with our Canton's arms and one with the baronial arms... our first two pieces of something that's actually OURS. Wow.. what an incredible gift of support!

Some friends within the Canton got their Coral Branches and an AOA, all beautifully done scrolls. One person got an Opal for her service. All were well-deserved and I'm proud to call each of them my friends.

On a side note, I also received a Coral Branch promissory and I managed to win the Technical A&S prize (basically a "how to" type of thing). I used my documentation and rendition of a six-shed twill. I won a very nice padded cover book with blank pages. I think I'll use it when I set out my stuff for A&S, for people to leave their comments and the like.

Someone also left me a stick pin and a string of pink seed pearls with two notes. Those are always nice!

I think I tried to do too much and as a result, I don't want to do much now. The weekend was a blur, that much is to be certain.

We came home to two very neurotic dogs, but they're getting back to normal. Our friend Allen (my love's boss) was at the event taking pictures. We got to see some of those pictures today... they were awesome! Lots of beautiful pictures.

The best part of the weekend for me was watching the look on my love's face when he was called into court on Saturday. He was completely surprised and shocked. After, what he was later told was a unanimous decision, he was awarded the rapier tournament's sapphire prize for chivalry. It was the most awesome sight. I've never been more proud of my love's actions and demeanor. The best part of all, was what he said on the way home.... I lost all of my rapier fights... but I had FUN for the first time in a LONG time.. I had FUN! I didn't have to worry about consult tables, discussing heraldry or worrying about anything else.. I got to have fuN!!! (and he had the biggest grin on his face that I haven't seen in a LONG time!.

The only bad part of the weekend for me.. was my knees. When I was called into court for my Coral Branch on Saturday, I decided that I wanted to kneel before their Majesties... as soon as I went to my knees, I could feel the muscles in the back of my thighs start to tighten up in a massive cramp and at the same time, the weight on my knees was making the kneecaps screach at me in pain..... so I tried to straighten one, only to have the other one do the same thing. What I wanted to do, was fall back and sit on my behind, but how would THAT have looked??? As all of this was going on, I was making horrible faces to Padraigin... I'm sure she must have thought I'd lost my mind. I was really happy to receive the Coral Branch... it was a surprise, and one that I really cherish.. but oh the pain. I had to be helped to stand and I almost fell over :( I was mortified!

Then the annoucement about those folks who can't kneel shouldn't, and that the crown understands... it just made me feel about *this* tall. And yes, I do understand that wasn't to make me feel ashamed or bad in any way. For a split second, I was embarrassed and it passed. It's a part of life and no matter how much I ignore it, that's one of my limitations that I just have to deal with and it doesn't mean I don't respect the monarchs, it just simply means that I can't kneel.

I wasn't able to kneel when I got my AOA, and it's bothered me ever since; and I guess I just have to get over it. His Majesty and Her Majesty were very gracious and I had a little conversation with His Majesty at the Hootenanny, and I feel a LOT better about the entire situation. He very gently and kindly pointed out a few things me and it was more than just a little helpful.

I only hope that should the day comes when it's expected that I kneel again, either the Monarchs then will understand or they will find a way to make a concession.... I wonder if a bench for someone to be seated on would be less embarrassing to the ones who can't kneel... but that's probably not practical.

I'm not trying to take away kneeling or that "look" but there has to be a way for the rest of us to achieve that "look" too.. :-)

It's a thought.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com