Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-05-16 - 8:02 a.m.

Heroes Portion WOOHOO!!!

Yesterday was a great day! I'm still tired, but I had loads of fun at Heroe's Portion. I taught an inkle weaving class to about four students. Pne had done it before, but was having problems with her warp at home and thought the class might help and three others were brand new. After a five minute instruction on what it is and how it works, we set about to wind on our warp. Within an hour or so, everyone had a warped inkle loom, and a shuttle all ready weave. I got them started and while one had to leave to tend a baby, and another left to go watch a fighter fight, the other two just took off like gangbusters! It was such a neat thing... one of them actually came up and hugged me and thanked me for teaching! It was such a cool experience for only my second time at teaching. I was just thrilled that the class went to sell.

After the class, two of my students sat in the great room weaving and it was a topic of conversation for other people walking in and through.. they were a "demo" of sorts for other people. I hung back a bit and learn both of them telling others about how much fun they had and how in less than 30 minutes, they had string in hand and were actually DOING something in an A&S class!

As I was there playing with one of the most beautiful babies on the planet, someone else was in the room and mentined that she ws new the SCA, and she was trying to find something she didn't "suck at". She said she'd tries several things, and ll of them had been failures. I told her that I had something she could try that was GUARANTEED not to fail.. and it would only cost her five minutes. She said she'd give it a shot so I went into the back room where I taught my class and brought out my inkle loom. I gave her a one to two minute "how this works, and how to make it "go" talk and she was off like a weaving madwoman! She was happy and I was ecstatic.. that was a great capstone to a great day!

This is one of those days that erases the "not so good" attempts.. yanno....

It's not the destination... it's the journey, and I'm loving it.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com