Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-04-17 - 10:36 a.m.

Yeay Me!

Went to the Riverdogs Hockey game last night... amazingly enough we won in the second sudden death overtime. It as around midnight-thirty when we got home. And we were tired.

The usual telephone calls started at shortly after 8AM (my love's work). So here it is, 10:30ish, and I'm up and dressed and ready to get stuff done.

Yesterday wasn't but so bad... I've been put on another team and given a different responsibility and yesterday was training day. I'll know on Monday how well I did in my training.. I'm not really worried, it's not rocket science.

I also did something else.... I put in my resume for a different job. What's so special about that, you ask... well I'm glad you asked. Shortly after my love left the law firm, I've been keeping my head down, not wanting to be noticed for much of anything, trying really hard to not make waves, etc. Basically, even though I've bitched to high heaven about the place, I've been thankful just to have a job.

On Thursday, I got an email from my boss's boss asking if I had any billing experience in a previous job. I have and I haven't. She asked for a copy of my resume and said she'd "forward it on".. but with that voice that kinda said "thanks but no thanks". Then on Friday morning, the email about a job opening in the billing department was announced. I decided that if there was ever a time to toot my own horn about things, now was the time. I sent an email to the HR person explaining my experience as well as the qualities I think would make me at least a potential candidate for the position and that I was definitely interested in pursuing the position. That's a huge thing for me. She replied, asking for a copy of my resume in electronic format, and I happily complied.

So I sit and wait, hopeful, but not too hopeful. Even if I don't get the job, I was able to step outside of myself and leave the "why would they want ME" mantra that's been going on in my head for years now, an tell them why they want me. And I'm almost ashamed to say... it felt GOOD!

If they choose to hire someone else for the job, that's fine and I really am okay with it... I'll try somewhere else.

This job hunt thing is really hard when your self-esteem is in the toilet and you don't even know it.

Okay... time to go and get stuff ready for a very special visit this evening :-)

Be gentle to yourselves and your friends... remember, good friends love you when know one else is looking!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com