Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2004-02-07 - 8:43 p.m.

The class, and my two cents worth.

My class is over, and I survived. I think it went okay.... and that's about all I can ask for.

I'm exhausted.. i've spent way too much time worrying and stressing and as soon 2:30 hit, my body decided to tell me so.

Shortly, I'll be leaving the online community to watch television and hoefully sleep the sleep of the peaceful.

And to continue the rant about what happened in Florida. I can only imagine a part of what Carly's family is feeling. I do, however, know the frustration and agony the searchers felt. Having been on more than one search for a missing child.... I know the hope you start out with, and for every hour that passes, your heart sinks a little, your step quickens and your voice gets louder. You know deep in your heart that time is running out for the child. You hope to be the one that finds her, but at the same time, you don't want to find her, because you know.

On two of the searches I was involved in, they ended in a good note... the children were found. One was a boy and his brother who wandered away from home. They were found unharmed in the woods about a mile from their house.

The second, involved an 8 year old girl. She was abducted, but found alive... barely. She had been raped, beaten and stabbed repeatedly. THe only thing that kept her alive was the fact that he left her in the woods on a sleeping bag and tried to cover her with leaves and etc that helped stem the flow of blood. SHe recovered, but in doing so, she had to have a hysterectomy. At 8 years old, she'll never be a mother, she'll have to explain to someone why and relive the horror that happened to her.

I spent many hours looking for her, and after she was found, I followed the story in the news. Franz Henry DeJong was found guilty and I believe he was executed... but it took years.... years that he languished in jail. Years that he stole from a little girl. Years that she'll never get back. Years that weren't his to take.

Would I kill to protect a child? Even one that wasn't mine. You bet. I'd fight tooth and nail for any kid that yells and fights to get away.

The chilling part of the whole thing was watching that video... she just walked away with him. I wonder what he said to her. I wonder what he said to make her go with him and not haul ass in another direction. I don't blame her... I blame him. He was the adult in the situation... he had the upper hand.

If he did kill her, then he has no right to breathe the same air in the world that child lived in. He has no right to exist on this plane. He forfeited that right when he approached her. It's not like he didn't know.

There was a report that he had a dozen other arrests as well as another attempted kidnapping. He tried to kidnap his ex-girlfriend by following her as she walked home and jumping out from some trees in an attempt to pull her over the guardrail and into the treeline. She put one foot on the guardrail and refused to let herself get pulled in. She saved herself. People like this man, tend to move down the evolutionary ladder (so to speak)when they don't get what they want. He preyed on an adult female it didn't work... the next stop down the ladder would be a child. They're trusting and a heck of a lot easier to trick and then subdue.

They don't have the reasoning that adults do. For that reason alone, the man doesn't deserve to breathe MY air, he shouldn't be allowed three hots and a cot, and he shouldn't be allowed to live out the rest of his life in relative luxury when her parents get to visit her grave on her birthday.

She didn't have a chance to grow up and be a normal kid... isn't that worth something????

Of course, I believe in PRISON, not prison... I believe that we should go back to prison farms and work camps. Back to chain gangs and the like. Nope, it wasn't fair, nope it wasn't equitable... but you know.. if we made prison such a horrible place, there'd be fewer people wanting to go there and trying so desperately hard to stay there for life.

Make it so they welcome capital punishment.

Perhaps then, things would change, and people wouldn't be so terrified to let their children play in the front yard, or ride their bikes down the street.

But again, I couldn't possibly understand... I don't have children.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com