Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-12-20 - 9:05 a.m.

LOTR, Spiders, and Christmas Lyrics

Well, I saw the third LOTR movie last night, probably against medical advice, but it was one of those 'had to' moments.

Now..... my entry contains a few "semi spoilers" so if you haven't seen it and you care, I wouldn't read much further...

I coudln't stand the thought of NOT seeing it.

In a word... awesome

in two words Oh Wow

in three words: Just plain cool!

In four words: You should see it!

in five words: this movie is da bomb!

in six words: The best movie I've seen yet!

get the idea?

*****************

Okay, here is the part where you go to another diary or surf the web if you don't want to see what comes next!:

You'ev been duly warned, and I take NO responsibility for what you see...

*****************

Movie Issues

Continuity:The only continuity problem I saw was way into the movie and you didn't really care. Frodo and Samwise had disposed of the ring and were both wearing Orc "costumes" because Frodo's clothes had been stolen by the Orcs. They were walking through this big rocky field, trying to get away, and suddenly, there they were, back in the clothes from the Shire!

THe least believable moment: In one of the large fight scenes (there were many, and they were awesome!), Legolas jumps up on an elephant and climbs his way to the top, slashing ropes and the like, so the elephant's riders fall off. He uses arrows that have been show into the poor creature to make his way to the backbone of the elephant, and then he gets near the head and eventually kills the elephant, riding it down to the ground as if he's a surfer in California catching a big wave (outstretched arms and the whole balance thing)... for those 5 seconds of the movie, (from his standing ont h elephants back to riding the trunk down to the ground and hopping off) it just screamed CGI (and I do mean screamed).

The CGI in the rest of the move was breathtaking and flawless.

Worst creature in the movie: The oscar goes to the she-orb (I think I have the name right).. in short it's a HUGE, nasty, gross spider. When I say huge, I mean huge. Thankfully, my love warned me about 10 minutes before she/he/it made the appearance in the movie. I'm really glad he did that, because the people in the rows behind me were little, and my screaming hysterically and crawling over them to get away MIGHT have been a movie dampener for them. As it was, I spent that part of the movie, with my eyes covered by my scarf, sipping on flat soda so I wouldn't a) scream and b) throw up.

I can tolerate just about anything (notice I said 'just about') but spiders. Yeah, yeah, I know they have a place in the eco-system.. but a) I've been bitten before and it wasn't a pretty thing to have happen and b) I have a deal with them.... if I don't see them, they can live, but if I see them, they they broke the agreement and they must die...

So why is it that the scary children's movies lately all seem to have spiders? (The last Harry Potter movie and now this)... Could the movie industry be trying to use a forgotten stereotype? Heck.. there were even trailers for the next SPIDERman movie....am I the only person sensing a theme?

And no, teasing me with spiders is NOT fun, nor entertaining. What it will do is send me into a "fit" of catatonia the likes of which most people have never seen.

(When I was in 7th grade, at that horrible "christian" school, the kids on the school bus thought it would be funny to see my expression if they put a rubber spider on my shoulder. I sat right behind the bus driver because, well, with those little heathens, it was the best and safest place. Someone put it on my shoulder and then someone called me name. I turned and saw the rubber spider on my shoulder and according to the bus driver, I turned white as a sheet and couldn't move. She thought I was going to pass out. All I could do was suck in air and stare at it. I tried to back away, but of course, it followed.

The kids thought it was hilariously funny, the bus driver stopped the bus, knocked it off my shoulder and took us all home, but from that point on, they took delight in torturing me with spiders of all shapes and sizes. (lovely "christian" kids they had there, just full of "christian love" and kindness for their fellow person.... Yep, I know they were only 13-14 year olds, but still....)

To this day, I'm downright phobic about spiders, and no, I don't want to get over it. That's just one irrational fear that I'm content with.

Anyway, enough about me.. I'm off to the local Wal-Mart.. I've got a few things to get and do before the hubbester wakes up and we get to the chores... they have to be done even when the tummy is still doing backflips and the only thing I've eaten since yesterday at 10:00 a.m. is chicken noodle soup (chicken broth with some angel hair pasta thrown in), a baked potato with butter, M&M's, a few sips of coke and a popsicle.

Today is "get it all done before we leave" day.

Take care...

and this is still my favorite CHristmas song (although they're not playing it all that much this year):

Let There Be Peace On Earth

Let there be peace on earth
and let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.
With God as our Father,
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now.
With ev'ry step I take
Let this be my solemn vow:

To take each moment and live
Each moment in peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth
and let it begin with me.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com