Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-09-14 - 10:55 p.m.

A Growth Spurt for a 37 Year Old

It was a hard weekend on a number of levels... but it ended rather well.

Let's start on Friday... Friday was a day I couldn't wait to be over. Nothing bad happened at work,b ut I was eager to be done with it and on the way to Glengary. By the time we got out of work, it was raining.. Not just raining, but I swear poodles and tabbis were bouncing on the sidewalk. THAT type of raining.

We had planned to sleep at site, but we got smarter the further we drove and ended up at a hotel. We spent the night about 30 minutes from site and then went the rest of the way on Saturday.

We got there on Saturday and set up in drizzle with periods of pouring rain. We had our Polyester palace with us and that served as Chirurgeon point and waterbearer's point. I had a great person handling the waterbearing part, and helping out with the chiurgeon part (i'll explain why in a bit). We also had two brand new SCAdians (who are also AMTs and want to be Chirurgeons) join us. It was a lot of fun to see an event through the eyes of someone at their first event. We evidently did something right, because their last words to us as they ran off to feast were that they'd see us at Crusades! We invited them to sit with us at dinner and their eyes lit up!

The fighting went well, although Gorm sustained an owwie about 5 minutes into the first battle and it kept him from fighting for the rest of the day.

I had several long conversations with people and in the process of the conversation, I came to the realization that I had done someone harm (at least in thought) based on the words of someone else.

Now, many of you know me, know how hard it is for me to approach someone I know at an event, imagine how hard it is for me to do that with someone I've only met twice.... well, when I realized that an apology is in order, I went to do just that.

I set off across the field to deliver the apology in person and in so doing, my ankle found a rut followed by a gopher hole and well, I executed a not-so-gracful four point landing on my knees and th palms of my hands. I sat there on the wet ground for a bit, my pride bruised, trying to figure out if everything was okay.... it seemed to be okay, just sore. I got myself up and took a few steps and felt a sharp pain my right knee, around the kneecap with every step I took on my right foot. It was just a twinge, it's the kind of pain that makes you wish you knew several languages, because there are times when just English isn't enough.

I limped my way to where the person I'd wronged was, straightened myself up and approached her with all the courage I could muster. We sat down and had a very lovely conversation, wherein I apologized and explained the situation as I knew it. She explained what she knew and together were able to put things to rest. That was a good feeling.

After the conversation, I stood up to alk back to Chirurgeon point, and my knee just wouldn't deal with it. Every step made me want to scream. One of the two new people happend to see me and came to my aid. THankfully, he's an EMT and between he and his wife (also an EMT) they managed to get me back to Chirurgeon point and helped me put my knee up and ice it. He helped me limp back to CP, leaning on him the whole time. THe pain was more than excruciating. It would be like that for a total of 20 steps, then it would get easier and easier and then all of a sudden it was back again, and then about 20 steps later it would be gone.

I made it back there, and there I sat for the rest of the day. Luckily, the waterbearer in charge was overseeing what I couldn't of the patient care, and I had first hand knowledge of the care the two apprentices gave.

We managed to pack up our truck with me limping about and then we went to have the second not-so-pleasant conversation of the day....I had planned this, but it wasn't very easy by any stretch. Yep, this was the "I'm leaving the household and this is why" discussion. It made me want to throw up, to know I was hurting someone I care about, but it had to be done. I wasn't thrilled about doing it, but I really feel I had no choice. We had a heart to heart talk and I explained all the whys and werefores that I outlined here right after pennsic. She accepted it, (but I know she didn't like it).

When the conversation was over, I felt as if a huge weight had been lifted off of my shoulders. I'd been dreading the coversation. But at the same time, I felt proud of myself. That was not a conversation I would have had a year ago, or maybe even six months ago.

Neither one would have been ones I'd have had two years ago.

The rest of the weekend was an absolute blast, and I'll have to fill you all in later (it's late, and I need to get to sleep...

In short, I had one heck of a growth experience this weekend and I think I went through it rather well, and I did the right thing (tm). This time, rather than waver on what to do, I KNEW what the right thing is....

And oh yeah.. something else occurred to me on the ride home tonight.... our team for the Pas has these small boxes that we (as ladies of the team) are to give to the person who inspires us.. we're to fill them with whatever we like and give them to the person (personally, not in a grand way like in court)... I think I already know who my person is...



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com