Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-09-11 - 7:56 p.m.

The Best Revenge

Byt he time ya'll read this, the day will be gone, but not the remembrance.

THis morning, thanks to the marvel of radio, I was able to listen to the ceremonies at both the Pentagon and in New York. I was able to listen to the children read out the names of those people who died that horrible day. Yes, I did some choking up, and I still shed some tears. I listened to the children read names of strangers and of family members, adding their own small string of words at that moment. I could still hear the hurt and anguish in their little voices and at the same time, I marvel at their strength.

They knew what the day was about, they are fully aware what we are remembering, and that they could do that in full view of television cameras is nothing short of amazing. They lost someone they loved that horrible day and yet, they were willing to stand up and read names that really don't mean anything to most people, but at least one name meant something special to them.

I haven't done EMS work in probably close to 15 years now. But I still feel a kinship with those who do the job now. I still feel a closeness with the firefighters, rescue workers and police officers who do their jobs to the best of their ability... and I still consider myself as one of them. I consider those men and women who died to help others as part of MY extended family. I sat there in awe, and like Kymber, I wonder if the situation were my own, would I have gone in there, knowing full well that I wouldn't come out again. I honestly say, I don't know. I'd like to think I would have, but I really have no way to know. over the past two years, I've often wondered if in their last few moments, did they think the things the rest of us did... about their family and their safety, or did they just go forward.

Then I think about the rest of us... watching the carnage on television... of people heading down to the Red Cross to donate blood.. so many people that the line curled around the building and down the block. I think of flags and hugs from strangers.

Things have changed quite a bit since that horrible and sad day. I notice the "strange" more, I pay closer attention to those people I care about. I'm quicker to ask forgiveness and to say I love you. You can ask my love, but there aren't many days that go by that he doesn't hear, see or feel "I love you."

Most nights, when we're in bed, and he's about to drift off to sleep, I'll whisper to the dark "I love you, sweetness!" Sometimes he hears me and he'll mumble it back to me (which always makes me smile), but more often than night, the darkness is my only reply, and that's okay. I hear him tell me and show me that enough during the day. I tell him in the dark because I want it to be the last thing he hears as he drifts off to sleep. It's just my way of making sure he knows that he is loved deeply, completely and without reservation.

THEY can take away many things, but they can't take away my ability to love and be loved.

I won't forget, but at the same time, living (and loving) is the best revenge.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com