Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-08-20 - 12:05 p.m.

Post Pennsic Projects

I want to write about something positive today...I'm just not really sure what to write about....so I'm going to write off the cuff and we'll see how it goes....

I surprised myself last night. I spent some time last night doing some illumination on a practice scroll last night. It turned out a lot better than I had expected. I was amazed at myself. I don't know what I expected, but what I got was actually something I could be proud of. I now need to practice the calligraphy before I put it on the scroll, but as long as I do a decent job, it will still be something to be proud of... my FIRST scroll. That's been something in the works since we first joined the SCA. When we first came to the SCA I thought I wanted to do some C&I, but when I looked at my penmanship and other people's scrollwork, I decided it was something that I would be able to do. My skills weren't good enough.

I am also excited about the supported hand spinning. I've tried to use a drop spindle before and it just didn't work out. I couldn't draft it and turn the spindle at the same time.... this time, I was able to keep the spindle up near me and draft as I go... and I could actually see the spin walk itself up the roving as I would spin and draft. I was so excited I called Gorm to come in from the living room to watch me. It's not perfect and a bit shlubby in places, and the spinning isn't uniform..., but it's a start. The spun wool ended up being very thin...almost the diameter of sewing thread. It was just so neat! I was so proud of myself and so happy that I had finally figured out MY secret for spinning that I was just grinning from ear to ear!

Things at home are going okay.. I'm not as far along in the "straightening and putting away" part of Pennsic as I had hoped... but Pennsic isn't one of those relaxing vacations I keep hoping for. I find that I need a vacation to relax from my vacation. Go figure. I'm hoping to take some time off between Christmas and New Years this year, to just chill out and relax a bit.

I think I'm going through a bit of the Pennsic drop. It has a huge buildup, and then the bottom dropped out and I'm kinda "blah".

I brought a project to work to work on a bit (I'm going to make lanyards for a couple of co-workers). See, since the move to the new office, we now have security badges that we have to use to get onto our floor and to move between the third and fourth floors. We have to keep them with us, but they didn't give us lanyards or any way to keep them with us.... two of my co-workers and I were talking about how something like a lanyard would be helpful. You know I can't turn down an opportunity to weave. I brought my tinkle loom to work and I'll be working on it during breaks and lunch. Two lanyards about 30 inches long can't take forever, can it?

I've also got some card weaving to get started on this weekend... but I need to wait for the final decision of what colors... after that, keep your fingers crossed... Card weaving isn't all that easy for me; but I'll do it ;-). 40 times over, but I'll do it :)

I also have a twill weave to get done (I'd like to get it done before Coronation, but I'm not at all sure if I'll get it done in time. It was to be for Pennsic.. but that didn't happen).... I wonder if I could talk Gorm into letting me spend the weekend this coming weekend working on a twill weave.

Oh love............................can I ask you a question?!........................................



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com