Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-08-18 - 1:26 p.m.

New Diggs

Well... we've moved (my office, not Gorm and I) ........ and I'm not really sure what to say about it other than I think I'm one of those people who doesn't really like change. I support it, but I don't like it.

The building we're in now was recently renovated. So recently, that I can smell the paint and it still has a faint hint of tobacco from years gone by. We're down in shockoe bottom near a Gentlemen's Club (they're open for lunch, btw). The building is 4.5 floors tall and you can see it from the interestate... since we're the principal tenant, they're going to paint the name of our office on the half floor that sits on top of the fourth floor.

As for the inside, the color is what I'd call old hospital yellow. Think about it. You know that white they paint hospitals... and then after years and years of use, that white turns a sickly yellow? It's like white that's been treated to second hand cigarette smoke for about twenty years. The cubes are about half the size of the ones we just left. They are literally no more than 6 feet x 6 feet. I literally have to leave my cube to change my mind. The "desk" in the cube was made for a munchkin... it's lower than I'm used to, so I find myself hunched over a bit.... my chair... it's not the one that I had at the other office.... the story is, the name tags on some of the chairs fell off during the move, and they had to use loaner chairs to be sure that everyone has one.... okay... I can believe that.. but this chair isn't really what I'd call a good office chair.. it's not even close. It has two adjustment "features". One will raise and lower the chair. If I raise the chair to a height that I can get in and out of my chair comfortably, the tops of my legs will hit the underside of the desk. The other feature, is the "tilt".... it has one setting... tilt until Rhi slips out of the chair and her butt hits the floor.... the back doesn't adjust and with my wonderful back and more than ample behind.. I find myself sitting on the edge of my chair with no back support.

My office mates and I are now spread apart on two floors.... no one knows where everyone is yet, and we're all getting lost going to the bathroom (it's behind the RED wall.. the RED wall)... I found the elevators thank God, so I know how to leave here when the time is right.

The lights are some kind of bright, lemme tell you.. they wash the color right out... We all have under cabinet lights in our cubes, and I'd give anything to be able to turn off these very bright overhead lights and work with the under cabinet lights.... Did I mention that the bathroom has two stalls, and the mens bathroom has one stall and one urinal. The break room isn't any larger (I saw it on the tour, not that I can find it again)...the analysts and attorneys have these magical things that allow them to see out of the building... I think they call them "winders" or something like that... and oh yeah.. there's brick (lots of it, and all painted). One side of the building still has roll-up doors on the THIRD floor.. how weird is that!?

The opening to my cube is at my back... which means people can walk up on me anytime and scare the bejeebers out of me... have I mentioned how much I love eep-ing like a girl...the cubes are arranged in long rows with one cube on each side of a six foot high wall (also made out of cloth covered cork)...my person on the other side of my high wall is already a pain in the behind and it's only noon... so far, she's been over here no less than six times (I know because I've counted). She's a talker and she has to tell me everything that's going on... item by item... I've known her as long as I've been with our company, and I had to ask that I be moved away from her once, because she's so distracting (she talks to herself, she talks to those around her, and she invites other co-workers to come by for a chat, and inevitably, she has to ask me something that's in no way related to work. When I first started entering and quality checking my work, I turned in a list of the files I'd done that day... 20.... in an eight hour period.... the next day was 16, and the day after that was 22. The highest number I was able to reach while I was near her was 22. I got moved to a quieter less talkative location and my numbers were closer to 70.

We had fun getting TO the office this morning.. let's just hope my love can find me at 5:00, otherwise I'll be here til Morning... I cautioned him not to stop at the Gentlemen's Club for directions, less HE get distracted :)



As for forgetting the Weaver's Tea... I emailed my soon-to-be-Laurel-I-Hope, and explained what had happened during the week, and hopefully she'll forgive me. She seems to be relatively level headed.

I also found out that one of the coolest 13 year olds in the universe got his AoA in midrealm court on Friday... Uther Gwyllt (known to us as Rafael (Rafi for short)) finally got his AoA... I say finally, because to be honest, there is nothing that "boy" won't do if you ask him. He and his friend Megan helped tote ice and do all of the other camp chores that needed to be done. He babysat in an emergency one night, he babysat two children from Russia for a good portion of his war. He is a midrealm youth fighter and he's working on being a Marshall in Training for Youth Combat. In short.. the kid is just wonderful!

The news of the soon-to-be-ex household is that there isn't any news.. the explosion that was expected and threatened, didn't happen, and it appears that all went well, and no one was killed in the dismantling of camp. Supposedly the one person causing most of the issues was having "hormone surges"... last I checked while hormone surges IS a murder defense, it's not what I'd call a good excuse for scaring little children and making the rest of the adults seethe and consider becoming a splinter faction called the "Conspiracy"....I know not what course others will take, but as for me... color me gone :)

I bought some period pigments from Master John the Artificier and I'm more convinced than ever that I'm doing something wrong. I bought some Cinnabar (it has a caution sticker on the vial that it contains mercury, so I'm very careful with it).. the problem is, I can't get it to combine with the Gum Arabic powder and water... it just won't mix, no matter what I do. It comes out very watery and sticky.. the color will "float" on top of the water and no matter how much I grind it with the muller, it's still very gritty.. and comes out way watery no matter how much gum arabic powder and color I use... I bought blue, cinnabar and Titanium white. The blue mixed up rather well, you saw my description of the Cinnabar, and I haven't even considered the white yet. I'd like ot use the period stuff if at all possible... but if I can't, I'll fake it or use a mixture of the two (the period blue and a "non-medieval" red.... Our instructor gave us a very brief overview on how to use those paints from Master John, but when I went to the web, there wasn't anything different about the Cinnabar, and for the Gum Arabic powder, it said to boil it in water and then add honey to the mixture... she didn't say anything about boiling it and adding honey....I'm at the end of my rope and ready to use water color from the local art store, if I can't figure this out for myself. Is there anyone out there who can help me with this little project?

The handspinning though, is going wonderfully well... I was able to spin all of the sample stuff she gave us and the next trick is to use some of the other wool that's been hanging around the house for the past year... supported handspinning really does let you create a fine twisted thread... I love to spin it and watch it climb the roving a bit at a time... it's just SOOoooo coool! It works a lot better than "regular" spinning does for me..... I think that's just awesome all by itself.... The only question I have is do I change the distaff when it's full, or can I just keep winding on? I never asked, because I never thought I'd get this far with a dowel rod and two wooden wheels all of which cost me a whole dollar.....

Maybe that's what I'll do during lunch.. spin and watch my co-workers give me weird looks (at least until Friday)... after that, I'll be cardweaving something for an upcoming event :)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com