Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-08-07 - 2:01 p.m.

Pennsic Timeline

It's here! It's here! It's FINALLY here! The day we leave for vacation! This is how you know I'm weird... I'm looking forward to a rainy pennsic! Yes, I am, in fact, looking forward to a rainy pennsic... Why on earth do you ask???...well, because the temperatures will be lower. Both at night (good sleeping weather) and during the day (good everything else weather). Now, I'm not crazy about thunderstorms, but rainstorms, not a problem.... I even survived Atlantian 20th... so I can survive anything rain-related.

The truck is packed to the gills, so to speak... the pvc pipe and canvas seems to be working... but we'll see how dry everything is when we get there. We even managed to put the pavilion and poles at the back end of the truck for better access.. how's that for good thinking?

There really isn't anything else to report... other than I'm sitting here at work, trying to burn time til 5PM. I have about 3.5 hours to go at this point (1:30). My cube is packed (the office is moving while I'm on vacation). I've got all of the information that I need for that (except actual directions to where the new office is)... At this point, we have the whole four stories to ourselves but we're only using the top two floors, and the one I'll be on will be access card only. That should be interesting :-)

As I've been spending days and weeks planning the packing and getting ready for Pennsic, I've been thinking about all of our other Pennsics, about how prepared, or unprepared we were depending on the Pennsic.

Pennsic 1 - Prepared? I don't think we knew what the word meant for our first one...In short, we did it wrong by the numbers. To put it plainly, what could go wrong, did.

What I learned at THIS Pennsic: eating and sleeping before we get there are important!

Pennsic 2 - (The Pennsic my love was by himself, I chickened out and stayed home)....that was the Pennsic my love had the "affair" (no, it's not what you think... no affair, just him doing what I asked him to (or rather threatened him with bodily injury if he didn't do... if you still want to know... ask me)...My love was more prepared, and I was safe and sound at home.

What I learned at THIS Pennsic: Sometimes, you need a little down time to think about things and then come back and do it right.

Pennsic 3 - My second Pennsic, my Love's third... we camped with the Barony at like N00, right near the merchants and the food court. The worst problem was it seemed like everyone who trolled in had to drive right by our pavilion... but that wasn't our problem. It was the Pennsic I bought my inkle loom that started my whole road to weaving. The weather was wonderful, and I got to play at combat archery. Yeay! It was a great Pennsic.

What I learned at THIS Pennsic: Weaving! Weaving is my thing... and don't put your pavilion on the corner where people will be dirving and turning all night long.... don't listen to people who laugh at our "pitiful" tent stakes....never stand when you can sit.

Pennsic 4 - My third, My love's Fourth... we camped with House Drunken Bager and Chirurgeon camp... it was a fun time and it was nice to know that there was a support system should something horrible happen. We didn't feel like we were on our own quite as much. I had heat issues, but they were manageable to a point..

What I learned at THIS Pennsic: Chirurgeon point has real showers! Things are a LOT easier when you're part of a larger group.

Pennsic 5 - My fourth, my Love's Fifth - Campd with House Drunken Badger and Chirurgeon Camp.... things around camp were a little more disorganized, and I spent a lot of time in camp, out of the sun... my diabetes medication was giving me HUGE heat-related issues. I found myself pretty depressed that all of my intentions about doing stuff was for nothing... I would be camp-bound at Pennsic forever. I would have cried, had I the energy to do so.

What I learned THIS Pennsic: Stay out of the direction sunlight you moron! Drink water... always.... don't push myself too hard. Think more about my happiness and worry less about others.

Pennsic 6 - My fifth, my love's sixth. This pennsic, the temperature at least will let me do what I want.. let's just hope it's not damp and cold :) We're as prepared as we're ever going to be, and we have a bed (a real one made of wood) but it does have an air mattress.... but it's a real live, honest to goodness bed with a frame... we've got some peg chairs, and we've learned our lessons from the previous four/five Pennsics.

What I WILL learn this Pennsic: I have no idea... so stay tuned for the after Pennsic wrap-up... it should be fun and interesting! I, for one, can't wait.

I've got 3.5 horus to go now... and if I keep writing I'm going to bore ya'll to tears and there's already enough water around :) (I can hear frogs choking as we speak!)

See ya'll at Pennsic! :) I'll be the one with the little blue cart and the HUGE-butt Rigid Heddle Loom :) (I might actually take it to Court.. wouldn't THAT be interesting :)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com