Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-08-05 - 11:09 a.m.

Behind (softly) closed doors.

Good Morning World!

Two wake-ups til we leave! Yeay for us! Not much got done yesterday evening. Gorm looked like something the cat woulnd't drag in, so we took an evening off (thankfully, we had spent the weekend getting ready, but now we don't have any "fudge time" in the schedule.

I found out not too long ago that Stephan is home! Congrats to the Porter Family. I never really had the pleasure of your acquaintence, but practically everying in Atlantia has been holding their breath waiting for you to get back to your family. Thank you for a job well done, and for all of your efforts. You have done quite a lot and sacrificed more in the service of your country. Enjoy your time home and please know how happy we are you're back safe and sound!

In case any of you wonder how I'm able to update during the day... thank a family member... Sarna She's helping me do my best to not let the Man get me down :) Yeay for great friends and family :) (I'm a firm believer that you can have two families.. one you're born to and one you choose, and more often than not, the one you choose is a zillion times better!)


Is it just me, or are fat people the new people it's okay to pick on group??? As many of you know, I listen to the TV during my day at work. Unfortuantely, I get to listen to talk shows (and no, not Jerry Springer... I just can't deal with THAT). I do listen to Montel (as many of you know), and Maury when Montel is visual rather than vocal, and then there's Dr. Phil. Dr. Phil, the man who's by no means a skinny person himself has a bad attitude about fat people and he just perpetuates all of those negative stereotypes that just makes my teeth set on edge. The "you can change if you really want to". Not every one can. The "it's all about food". Not necessarily. I'm a firm believer that whenever someone makes blanket statements, they're full of crap. It just seems to me that people can make all sorts of hurtful comments to fat people and it's like the fat people have no reason to be upset. The comment someone made to me when I was about 19 is still there in the back of my mind... "David doesn't like you because you're overweight and he says that overweight people have a lack of self control." That was told to me by someone I considered a friend... then about five years ago a friend of mine asked a doctor friend of hers a question I had about weight control issues and pregnancy. The doctor's response was "well, it's a case of selective breeding and survival of the fittest.... society in general doesn't want fat people to pro-create, so in general they don't." Now...I'm not sure what's worse... hearing that this came from a doctor, or that my best friend repeated such a hurtful thing. That caused a rift between us for years; more on my part than hers.. but still. Things like that sting.... and those sorts of comments stick with you regardless. I've been doing a lot of reminding myself what someone I respect wrote to me to paraphrase, just because you hear them in your head doesn't make them your thoughts. Yes, my weight has gone back up and all I managed to do last year has been undone. Yes, it bothers me, but it doesn't define me. I am in better health that I've been in many years. I have more friends and family than I think I've ever had in my lifetime and I'm definitely more active than I've ever been at any point in my life... and regardless of our financial situation, I'm happy with my life and my love.

Would I love to be thin? yes. Do I think it will happen? Probably not. I just don't have the willpower and God knows I've tried. A gastric bypass is out of the question... it's just not worth the risk to me...., although I heard something on the radio yesterday about gastric banding. That appears to have a lot less risk than bypass surgery, but it is a surgery and I hate anesthesia.

Anyway.... onto another more cheery topic......

I was able to read AoD's diary yesterday and something came to mind I had to share with ya'll.....many many years ago, when I first starting learning the art of Cross Stitch, my very first piece was for my own bathroom... it was the picture of a child, sitting on a chamber pot... with a little verse that read:

If you sprinkle

When you tinkle;

Please be neat

and wipe the seat!

But I agree with you AoD... folks should clean up after themselves, or they should supply a box of latex/rubber gloves along side the seat covers in the bathrooms so you don't have come in contact with other people's germs...I know it's weird, but I used to carry a pair of latex gloves in my purse for just such an occasion. I'd also like to chase those people down an hand them one of those boxes of seat covers.... "yo MORON! Use THIS and not leave the bathroom like you leave the one at your house! Which I sincerely HOPE is better than the grossness you left for me!"

And while I'm at it.... I THOUGHT it was proper porta-castle etiquette to take care NOT to slam the porta castle doors when they're within hearing range of tents, pavilions and A&S tents? I've always thought that a slamming door was an announcement to the world.... "LOOK AT ME... SEE WHERE I JUST CAME FROM!? I went potty all by myself!" i want to shout out "Yes, I'm sure your Mommy would be proud, but I'm sure she taught you something about slamming doors!" Am I weird (don't answer that), Am I out of the loop? I mean puh-lease! At Sapphire, I spent the first night trying to quiet two dogs because they'd go off like a siren everytime someone slammed the damn porta-potty doors (and you know what worse than a slamming door... HEARING someone throw up... I mean sheesh.. am I the only person who know how to throw up without making an announcement? If you have to make that much noise when you toss your cookies, maybe you shouldn't drink til you throw up.. it can't be THAT much fun... can it??? One dog went off at the sound of the porta-potty door slamming and the other one went off at the sound of someone tossing up their party favors.... now THAT was memorable... lemme tell you :)

There are people who are light sleepers out there and they value every minute they can get (i'm one of those people). I take herbal meds when we camp so I can sleep at all, but things like slamming doors and loud voices will wake me no matter what.... I'm not asking that folks even care about my sleeping habits... it's more about common courtesy....

Please folks... show a little common courtesy to those nearby... keep the porta-potty doors from slamming behind you, clean up your messes and watch your aim... is that too much to ask????? Please?!?!?!

I'm considering putting signs int he porta-potties nearest our camp.... but I doubt it would be any good.....



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com