Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-07-31 - 10:25 a.m.

Wierd Week

Okay... It's been a weird week I'll grant you that....

It started with buttergate... then went to finding 14 packs of Yale Blue Quilt binding and then went to all of downtown Richmond lising power for 30 minutes for some unexplained reason and the paranoia that resulted in our office as a result of September 11 to radios on my desk that keep falling over.

Buttergate is about butter that we tried to buy at WalMart that they wouldn't sell to us. The cashier tried to ring it up for us and it came up basically "don't sell this". After about 10 minutes of waiting, we found out that the butter was recalled becuase there was a recall for metal in the butter. Then I heard yesterday that a particular brand of bread was being recalled because there was supposedly metal baked into some of the bread.

I've been sewing quilt binding on the five remaining baronial surcoats. I had five packages to start with and went through those pretty quickly. I did the smaller ones first, and it took all five packs to get through the first one and half of the second... now... at this point, I've have 3 and a half to go.... if it takes 1.5 packs per surcoat, you'd think that I'd need somewhere close to 4.5 packs. Add to that, that the sizes get bigger with each one... and the last one is fairly large (I lovingly refer to him as Mountain Main because he's the size of a small mountain)... so I figured we'd need a total of ten more packs. Gorm found me 14 packs to add to the 5 I had previously.... for a total of 19 packages (there should be no Yale Blue quilt bindings in the West End of the Richmond, so don't even try). Well, they're done now, and I have 8 packages left... yes, folks that means that the entire project took 11 packages of seam binding (each package is 3 yards long...)... so it took 33 YARDS of seam binding.. yes, I think that's a lot!

So yesterday... I'm sitting there working on my diaryla.... working... yes.. that's it.. working hard... when the power goes out. It doesn't just flicker, it goes OUT, way out... like packs up and goes to somewhere else on vacation. For about thirty minutes yesterday, the entire downtown Richmond area was blacker than a mile down a mine and then suddenly it was back.. just in time for Dr. Phil, followed by Montel with Sylvia Brown! The worst part was when the electricity went out, lots of people in my office started doing the paranoia thing since we're right next to the Federal Reserve. They immediately started heading downstairs and outside, talking about missing airplanes and that since we're on the side closest to the FedRes that when (not if) the bomb exploded we'd all surely die from building shrapnel. Several people decided to hide on the other side of the building "just in case". It got worse when the FedRes started up their aux. generator and for the first few seconds there was a plume of black smoke coming from a grating close to the building. People were convinced that something horrible had happened. There wasn't any screaming, but it wouldn't have taken much longer.

On the way to work yesterday, we stopped off at the local convenience store and it was closed. Thankfully, they leave the pumps on, but the store itself was closed, the lights were off and the door was locked. We got our gas, but I'd be lying if I say I wasn't concerned. The two people they'd hired to work for them were waiting outside with no clue what was going on. The two people who run the store are middle eastern. I wasn't worried that THEY had done anything wrong.. I was concerned, though, that some "good old boy" in a drunken stupor had decided that they were evil and should be stopped at all costs or something....I tried to call 9-11 to see if they could do a welfare check, just to make sure everything was okay, but I couldn't get through on my cell-phone.. I got the "all circuits are busy" message... how odd.

and last but not least... why do radios that are made to sit on flat surfaces have bottoms that aren't conducive to sitting on those same surfaces? I've had two radios on my desk since I've been here at my office and if you so much as look in the direction of the radio, it falls over with a loud thunk, and if there's anything in its path it gets squeezed out between the radio and the desk and hits the wall with an even louder thump, leaving my co-workers to wonder if I'm the terrorist they should be running away from; and this happens about 2-3 times a day.

I have two more things to sew.. one will take about 30 minutes, the other a bit longer... but then that's the end of the sewing and we start the packing process. I call it a process, because that's really what it is... a process... and the sooner we can get that process started, the less likely we'll leave something important behind.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com