Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-07-28 - 10:17 a.m.

Updates

Things are better. I'm a bit exhausted and somewhat sunburned. We spent yesterday getting things done in preparation for Pennsic. We made a "box" for the back of our truck out of pvc pipe and it appears that it will "work". We bought 12 yards of 60 inch wide fabric and I'm going to stitch a cover for it. Add some camp-dri and it'll be a reasonably water-proof place to store our stuff while we're going to and from Pennsic.

My friend, is doing better. She was able to spend some time with him at the funeral home. She was able to say her goodbyes and to talk to him and get some things off her chest about the entire situation. She did some things that I don't really think she should have. She went into his private email and found out more about him than she really wanted to, but it didn't deter her. They were in the process of breaking up when he died and he had moved on, so to speak... he had begun looking for a new person and she found the emails and pictures he'd received from an internet dating service he'd joined. She emailed the women who'd sent him the pictures (they happened to be sent on the day he died), she identified herself as his fiancee and told them how much she enjoyed the pictures and that now he was dead. When she told me she'd done that, as much as I didn't want to say anything negative to her, but I had to tell her that was the wrong thing to do. I know she wanted to let everyone who knew him know, but she had no business emailing those ladies. They probably had no idea she existed or that he was living with her, or that they had a relationship. That wasn't their fault. They had no way to know anything other than what he told them and to write them like that was just not right. I explained that I knew she was hurting but it wasn't right to do what she did. Grief makes you do strange things. She was on a tear and there wasn't much I could do. It's exhausting watching someone be a whirling dirvish for hours and hours on end.

She is at peace now (although she still hasn't eaten). We talked last night before I went to sleep and she sounded like her old self. We talked about the services coming up and whether or not she needed me there (I'd never met the man, and I didn't want to be hypocritical). She told me that I was there when she needed me and that now she had her chance to say goodbye, she was fine and she didn't need me to be there. I told her I would (as much as I detest funerals)if she wanted me to be there; but she said that having me there on Friday and Saturday was plenty and that she wanted me to get back to my life and she would understand about the funeral and that since I'd already missed work on Friday, missing more would make things difficult for me at work so I should go to work.

I got my new radio at Wal Mart last night, and it's here at work this morning. Strangely enough, I'm listening to channel 6 :-) although it does have a weather band, so I'm thinking we're probably going to bring it with us to Pennsic to keep up on the weather that changes from minute to minute.



I just heard that Bob Hope died last night. He was one of my parents favorite entertainers. Everyone they loved hearing and watching seems to be dying in short order. Well, they're old and times change and people die. I wish they could live forever. One by one, the connection to my past is getting thinner and thinner. It's a fact of life and that's all I can say.

Thank you Bob, for all of the laughter you brought to my family. Your legacy is long and your brand of humor will be sorely missed.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com