Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-07-25 - 4:16 p.m.

Sad Friday Tidings

A friend of mine is in indescribable pain today, and I'm going to sit here and try to describe it to you. How's that for idiocy.

I was sitting at work this morning, minding my own business, when I got an email (that's really the only way people can reach me during the work day) and it said simply "I need you. It's an emergency Call me." No, it wasn't Gorm. It was a friend I've had since I was about 20. She is the sister I should have had but God saw fit to give us to different families. She is not one of those people that has an emergency every week; so when she says "I need you" I will practically mow down people to get to her.

I found (or intimidated) a phone at work and called her and got the most stunning news I've had in a while. Her fiancee was killed his morning. He was a motorcycle rider and managed to ride his bike into the back of a dumptruck on I-64 just east of Gum Springs (he was on the way home). Have I ever mentioned how much I hate those two-wheeled death traps???? Remind me to tell you about it sometime)

She believes he fell asleep while riding. In any event, he's gone. The troopers say he died at the scene. She found out when she got home from work. Shortly after she got home, there were two state troopers on her doorstep to deliver the news.

Thankfully, one of the nurses she works with and is good friends with came to be with her until she could function enough to call me.

She's a cardiac nurse (my friend), but she hasn't eaten anything since yesterday, hasn't taken her medicine, and is having chest pain. All related to stress and lack of sleep is my guess. When her friend left (shortly after I got there); she told me to make sure she ate and got some sleep. I knew the first part wasn't going to happen, but I did manage to get to her take a nap. I'm manning the telephone and taking messages, and I'm hoping she's at least napping.

Later tonight, we're going to the accident site and there's a good possibility that we're going to the morgue tomorrow. She can't release the body since she's not a family member (fiancee doesn't count). She wants to see the site and she wants to see the body. I've tried to talk her out of it, but she is determined. Since I can't talk her out of it, and I won't let her go by herself, then I'm going too. It's not how I want to spend my Friday, but if she needs me, I'm here. Period.

She's going through a lot of stuff right now, and she can use candles, prayers and good thoughts. She's dealing with guilt. See, they had decided to split up not too long ago and he was in the process of finding another place... but she truly loved him. She's playing the "if only game" and unfortunately, she's got to see it to the end. I lover her, so I'll be here to see it through with her as much as possible.

Needless to say, I won't be at the event tomorrow. I know I said I'd be the CIC but I'm sure everyone will understand. This is where I need to be, as surely as the sun rises. She is my family. It's not that I "owe" her. I just know that if the situation were reversed, she would be there. She did that for me when my father died. She's not just a friend... she is family.

God, I don't pray to you often, but please Lord, give her peace and understanding and calmness for the days ahead. Please let her know that she is loved, cared for and respected. Please let her understand that she will have peace and there will be joy again. Please lift the sorrow from her heart and help her to heal.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com