Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-07-24 - 4:40 p.m.

Updates and Yoda

Well, I've got a few updates to let ya'll know about, so drop by and sit a spell whydoncha? :)

Firstly, my aunt seems to be doing better once again. The junk in her lungs has cleared for the most part, and her oxygen levels on 3 liters of O2 is at 98% (which is better than pretty good). Her spirits have improved and she's eating and drinking on her own. Since she's had such a rally, the nursing home has decided that instead of just supporting her til she slips away, they're going to be aggressive in the treatment of her pneumonia and take a stab at figuring out what's causing her belly pain..so who knows.. maybe she ran into an angel during her deathwatch and he told her it wasn't time just yet, I dunno... that is one surprising lady, lemme tell you. A week of stressing and weird dreams and it ends in good news.

We're getting closer and closer to Pennsic everyday and we're more ready for it today than we were yesterday. We've got all of my love's garb packed and mine is half there. I managed to sew a muslin bag for the chair pegs so they're not loose in my basket and getting lost (now I can save time and lose them all at once!). I also made something else that's a closely guarded government secret.. if you want to see it, you'll have to visit our camp in the dark (and that's all I'm going to say other than my love called it "truly frightening" when he saw it). I found some more fabric hiding in the recesses of our house and it looks like I may have 2 pairs of pants-worth of fabric. All I need now is enough for two shirts, for covers for our peg-chair cushions and I want walls for the inside of the pavilion (just to hide our stuff). Not bad for the fact that we still have at least two weeks to go til we get to Pennsic.

We've made our list of what else we need to take and our centerpole is back together thanks to a wonderful man, Lazarus the Seeker! If you read diaries and you find mine, Laz... you ROCK! The pole is actually better than we made it at first. Now it's got a 5/8" pin sunk a good 4" in the top and our finial has been drilled to accommodate the thicker pin. (You may or may not remember, but the bolt we were using ended up shearing off during the last storm of Sapphire. We found it hanging limply to one side of the pavilion on Monday morning.) After seeing it still standing on Monday, I have to admit that I have more faith in that thing than I did before.

In case anyone's wondering, the plan is for me to take both my rigid heddle loom AND my inkle loom (as well as my lucet and a box of yarn)... you never know when the mood to be creative will strike :) I've still got those favors I have to figure out how to get to her Majesty. I guess I can deliver them to Atlantian Royal once we get there...they're right across the road for us (Yes, I know they won't be camping there, but hopefully someone there can get them to her?)

Okay.. now that everyone's updated on my life, I want to make a statement here just in case anyone might have the idea that the opinions I have on a certain subject match someone else's. Is that cryptic enough for you? No? Well let me explain. This is about the armor-covering issue and Gorm's post on his diary.

I know that there have been a few people frosted by what he wrote in his diary yesterday on the subject of covering one's armor, and while no one has sent me a nasty gram of any kind, I feel as if I should post a "the opinions of the author do not necessarily reflect those of his wife" sticker everywhere. And I haven't done ANY investigation of my own into this flap. So these are my opinions based on what I've read and heard.

I know that feelings have been stepped on and hurts and insults have happened that unfortunately happens with such a heated topic among passionate people. I'd like to take a few minutes to "clear the air" to let people know that while he and I share a brain, our opinions aren't always the same, nor are they to the same depth. This is not an apology for anything HE wrote.

Most of the time, my thoughts on subjects such as these are black and white. You can fight or not. It's up to you, regardless of whether or not you like the rule. I am all for upping the spiff factor, and I personally think that while armor is one of the more "showy" things people see, I also think that there are other areas that really need the spiff factor more. I think that the use of a GOOD tabard can hide a number of sins. I think that working hard on garb, covering mundanities and the like should take precedence. I also think that instead of a "cover your armor" rule... perhaps a "cover your armor" class combined with that deadline would be more helpful. Give people the means to cover it and they will. I have no clue how to cover kydex. No clue at all.

But, at the same time, I don't think that stomping and railing about the injustice of it all will help anything either. At this point, the only risk that happens is that you run the risk of alienating friends and perhaps making enemies in a hobby that is a lot about relationships, causing people to perhaps look at you in a way that you don't really want. Basically, the window for comments and the like is over, no one's opinion is going to change on the subject, so it's decision time.....The bottom line is that the fighters have a choice regardless of whether or not they agree with the rule. Fight or not to fight. The rule has been made and implemented. They're not asking opinions or whether or not you agree to it. It's sort of like a parent that says "because I said so". If you want to fight, you'll cover the armor. If you don't want to cover it, then you won't get to fight. As Yoda says "there is do or there is do not, there is no try." (or something to that effect.. but I think you get my point)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com