Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-07-20 - 1:12 p.m.

First Rigid Heddle Project is DONE!

My first Rigid Heddle Weaving project is done!

I basically slapped the warp on there (I made it 12" wide, but I couldn't tell you how long it was.. I just sorta eyeballed it on the warping board. It was my first project, and I had pretty much decided it was going to come out sucky anyways and I'd probably throw it away. Well, I was wrong.

I finished it at abuot 3AM this morning. I started weaving around 11:30 and I just couldn't find a stopping point, so I kept at it until I ran out of weaving. That was my stopping point.

I took it off the loom, tied fringe knots and took it over to the dining room table. I already had my cardboard cutting board laid out from the sewing I'd done earlier in the day (two underdresses and one pair of silly pants that turned out to be more wow... those are cool rather than silly, but that's another story). Anyways, I took the finished weaving over to the cutting board and measured out the finished project. Now, keep in mind that this project still needs to be washed and dried, and it's cotton so some shrinkage will happen (it has to be washed in very hot water and dried on a high heat setting to finish it... it's called "wet finishing"... face it, ya'll will learn about weaving if it kills me :)

But as of right now, we're looking at piece of weaving that's 12 inches wide and 4.72 YARDS long. Yep... Not quite 5 years. The nice thing about the RH Loom is there is very little loom waste. My large floor loom wastes about 40" per yarn end (it all has to be added in to determine how much yarn is needed for each project). My RH Loom waste is less than 12 inches. That's not bad at all.

Once it's finished, I have enough for two placemats and a 6' long table runner (in vareigated blue)... or 4 placemats or one 4.75 yard THING.

The next project for it, is the new Baronial Favors. I'm in the process of doing the math for all of it and then get it on the loom (which is also a LOT easier than my floor loom). I only wish I could do more than plainweave. Kimmie is loaning me a book, so that might help with that.

I've also got a weaving project due at Pennsic, but I'm not sure if I'll get to it or not. We only have a few weeks left.

I still have one bodice to sew, but otherwise, we're pretty ready garb-wise.

Okay.. it's time to get busy and measure measure the warp for the next RH Loom project.

Ya'll take care!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com