Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-05-28 - 8:25 p.m.

Core Dump on Nothing in Particular

I thought I'd get back in the habit of writing again. Why? Beats me. I'm sure everyone got along just fine without me, but I'm in the mood (and I finally have a few spare minutes to talk about basically anything that comes to mind. I know you missed me. Really. You don't have to tell me, I know you did!

Well, I've already started the beginning of my process for my next A&S project. I sorta have a reputation (tiny as it is) to live up to. I've done some reading and a little bit of writing (about a page or so) and now I need to let it germinate into actual documentation. That's how it works for me. I read, then I wait, then it just basically pours out of my head through my fingers then onto a word processing program and finally onto paper.

Somewhere in the process, what I read solidifies itself into something coherent and once that happens, all I need to do is type and then clean up the grammar. It's how I've always done it.

Once, in High School, tried to write a term paper the right way, and the teacher took pity on me and gave me a D for effort (it was on Jackson Pollock the painter). The following year, we had to come up with a topic and then the paper was due on a certain date. They didn't care how we got to the final project as long as we had one. I got an A.

So far, I've been doing some very basic weaving projects, and I'll probably stay in the basic structures for a while, but that's just me. That's how I plan to learn my craft, from the ground up.

My next A&S piece will be at Pennsic and it's "just" a twill (the same twill as the Shinrone Gown, to be exact). I have to admit, now that I'm beginning to get over the fear of documentation, it's not as bad as I thought it would be.



I really wish the rain would end. I've got a pavilion that's basically balled up on the front porch waiting for enough of a non-rainy day to spread it out to really dry out. We've got to do some cleaning on it too, and I can't remember the solution to clean the canvas if my life depended on it. It's sunforger and it's the type that's mildew resistant, fire retardant and something else I can't remember off the top of my head... if anyone knows the "recipe" feel free to leave it in my guestbook or email me.

The dogs are home from camp, and I have to say that I prefer them at camp to actually taking them to events where I have things going on. That was just a disaster waiting to happen. Period. I've also decided that I'm not going to try to do 14 things at one event. I give Gorm a hard time because he can't choose a weapons form for a weekend. Well, I'm just as bad, except it's not a weapons form, it's usually service and A&S in some combination.

I got a chance to see the baronial favors I made this weekend and I have to say that I'm pretty impressed with myself. I hadn't expected them to turn out as well as they did. I got one right! That's good!

Work is, well.. work. I'm still not overjoyed, and I'm still searching for something else, but until then, it's a paycheck.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com