Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-04-25 - 11:36 a.m.

Bomb Threat - I'm fine

Okay.. so I was wrong.. just when I thought I wouldn't have anything to say today....... I know ya'll don't listen to country music, but I'm pretty sure most of ya'll have heard a song with the following chorus:

Have you forgotten
When those towers fell
We had neighbors still inside
Going through a living hell

This morning, shortly after 9:00, we had to evacuate the building due to a bomb threat. I work in a 20 story office building that has a twin tower right beside it. (We call them the East and West Tower) and while I was a lot calmer than I figured I'd be, there were a lot of people who weren't. There were people running through our office and trying to squeeze down the stairs. Because of my knees, I took the elevator.

There was one topic on everyone's lips as we stood around and waited the two hours for them to search both towers... Yeah... two towers.... remember those? I thought you might.

We all swapped stories of "that day" as we stood there waiting for either the green light to go back in, or the explosion. Yeah, more often than not, threats are just that, threats... people take them a LOT more seriously now. It's really funny in an odd sort of way. Before September 11, 2001, the question was.. where were you when JFK was shot, now for my generation it's where were you on September 11 (notice how I don't refer to it as 9-11).

This threat today came in the form of a phone call from the owners of the building. No alarms. It was so quiet but clearly panicked the crap out of a lot of people in a very short amount of time.

It makes you (okay maybe just me) wonder again about the people in the other Twin Towers that once stood in New York. What were they thinking, were they afraid, were they thinking about their loved ones.

We had people using cell phones in the stairwells calling loved ones. I made my call, but after I was out and safely away from the building.

I'm back in the office on the 14th floor now that we've been given the all-clear sound and I realized that in all of the "excitement" I forgot to take my diabetes medication. I normally take it right after I eat breakfast. I was just finishing breakfast when someone ran through the office shouting "Get out NOW".

Forget them? Not a chance. I think about them at least peripherally every day I go into work. Yeah, we're not in any danger, we're only in Richmond, but no one ever thought the Twin Towers would be a target either.

Those people who died are everyday heroes. I doubt anyone will forget them, but WOW, it's amazing how things make you think.

I'm here, and I'm safe, but I'm a tiny bit shaky about coming back in here. I did it, because as I said back then, to NOT do it means I'm afraid and they win. I won't let that happen.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com