Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-03-28 - 11:01 a.m.

Religion and the Weekend

Well, it's Friday, that's something at least! Most of this entry is about religion, if that's not your thing, then you might want to skip to the end.

I'm sitting here stapling forms together while I process things. The priest of the local Catholic church called me last night to answer an email I sent him.

He was the one I spoke with face to face a while back. I'm guessing he was busy because it's almost Easter. Either that, or he just doesn't do well on the phone. Our conversation didn't last very long (about a minute or so), and it didn't leave me feeling all that welcome. He spent a good five minutes talking to Gorm; explaining that he wasn't excommunicated and the like. Their conversation ended when Gorm told him he'd be handing the phone off to me since I was the one he called to speak with. I got the phone back, he asked if he had answered my questions, I said yes, he said goodnight and "click". That was it. I don't know what I expected.... I guess I was hoping for something akin to warmth. he seemed incredibly nervous, he stammered a lot, giving me the impression that he didn't really know what he was talking about or that he felt uncomfortable answering my questions. I'm not really sure which. Like I said, I'm just going to chalk it up to being busy because Easter is right around the corner. But it still felt odd.

I also spent a few minutes online looking up an url that the-Bookgirl gave me about a Catholic Home Study Course. It's free, and I really have nothing to lose and quite a bit to gain; so I signed up for it. I believe I should be receiving the materials in about three to four weeks, I believe. If I pass the class, I get a certificate and everything and once I finish one course, I can take others. Nope, it doesn't make me catholic and I know it doesn't take the place of RCIA, but maybe it will answer the questions I don't know I have.

I've also started doing some more in-depth research into things... asking more (and better) questions. I had bought myself a rosary the first time around, cause I thought it was neat...I pulled it out last night and spent a few minutes fumbling through the Mysteries for yesterday. Nope, that doesn't make me catholic, it makes me someone who prays. For the first time in a while, I actually put some thought into something religious. I was able to focus a lot better than I thought I would; and while it felt a little weird at first, by the time I was done, I have to admit that I felt good. I felt calmer and more relaxed and even though I'd heard those stories at least once a year for pretty close to 14 years, there was a bit of nostalgia about them and in some ways more of an understanding. I can't really explain what I mean, so please don't ask for clarification, I can't give it to you right now. I only know that it was a "good thing"(tm) and I intend to continue.

Spending 10-20 minutes a day in meditation and prayer can't do anything bad... it will lower my blood pressure and take away some of the stress of the day. That's not a bad thing by any stretch of the imagination.

I think I'm going to wait a few weeks before I attempt to go to Mass by myself. Yep, I'm a chicken. But I don't want people to see me as someone who's there for the wrong reason. I want to make a reasonable impression (notice I didn't say good impression)...

I'm trying to do something I've done once in 16 years (go inside a church); that one turned ugly (my first marriage).. the wedding was a disaster... I'm hoping this time things are a LOT different. I want them to BE different.



This weekend, we're going to Baron Wehrner's first house to help with some painting and cleaning while he's recuperating; and somewhere in the process we've got to build a shelter for Sphygo (it's raining a lot and he loves it outside, so the solution is a shelter of some kind); we have the Heralds coming on Sunday (and from what I hear a LOT of them will be coming), along with some yarn for me! (YEAY!); and then it's the start of another week.... Lots going on both internally and out in the world... Will I get it all done? I hope so.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com