Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-03-17 - 11:35 a.m.

The Weekend

Ahhh... the weekend.. it was good, to be honest. We didnt' do a heck of a lot other than more yardwork and some dreaming.

We mucked out part of the ditch in the front yard (I don't think it'd been touched in MANY years). With that done, we tried to set the pine needles et. al from the ditch on fire. Even with lighter fluid the stuff refused to burn. It was a pitiful sight to say the least.

Remember the Morning Glories I planted in the little peat pots last weekend? You remember.. the ones that weren't supposed to even sprout for at least 10-14 days? Well, either the package lied or the peat pots are filled with some weird sort of nuclear waste that makes things grow at an uncanny rate. At the moment, I've got 116 plants all at least 3 to 4 inches tall and ready for planting.

While we went to the Wal Mart on Saturday we looked around at the options and did some pricing on stuff. We decided that we want a "country" but not a "backwoods" look. With that in mind, I think I want to buy half of a whiskey barrel , put it at the corner of the driveway (between the driveway and the walkway) and put my morning glories in it. If 116 plants will be too much (which I'm pretty sure they will be), I'm considering adding a few more here and there :) I'd love to have a rain barrel waterfall, but I'm not sure how that would work out here in the country. Would it attract an undesirable element (such as snakes and the like).



Other than that, I spent the weekend getting my A&S project together. It looks nice, but the weave is a bit more open than I'd like, so I'm going to do it again (once I throw this one in the wash and wet finish it). It tends to look remarkably different after it's washed.

On another note, I have a person that I email with who is a professional weaver (meaning she is a production weaver and sells her stuff). She once had a weaving store and is VERY knowledgeable about the craft. We'll as I said, I correspond with this person and she's probably the most helpful person on earth. I took a picture of the weaving I've done on my project this far and sent it to her for some help. She did give me some pointers and then the last paragraph made my day.

"you are a really good weaver, none of my beginning stuff was even close

to that. I had big loops at the sides or they pulled in terribly. So you

have a natural bent toward this. Keep up the great work."

I emailed her back and thanked her for the compliment and the encouragement. Needless to say, I consider that to be pretty good praise :)



We also went to our canton meeting and discussed Sapphire Joust and Last Chance among other items. One of which was what we plan to do about our incipiency. We have been told that we don't have much more to go before we can start the paperwork to come out of incipiency. Our basic decision was, we're not in any hurry and we're meeting our first objective was to help the barony grow at the southern boarder of the barony. Right now, there isn't much need to go any further. We intend to revisit the question again around this time next year.

As to world events... war is imminent. Do I want a war? Not on your life. Do I think it's necessary? At this point, I'm not really sure. Had this happened around September 11, 2001, I'd say hell yes. Now, I believe Saddam is an evil man and I believe that his regime has to go, but I'm not sure it's our place to do it. Is there a guarantee we'll get Bin Laden in the process? Do we THINK we'll be able to find him? If the answer is yes, then by all means make a parking lot out of the place. France doesn't want to support us because they've been selling armory parts to Iraq. No wonder! Freedom Fries, my ass... I like my love's comment. He doesn't eat French Fries or Freedom Fries, he eats potates cut lengthwise into "squares" and fried in oil. As I have said before, Whether or not we go to war is not my decision, and I believe there are things going on (evidence and the like) that we, as a nation, are not privy to (and I, for one, am very happy of that fact). If our President says war is imminent and then he declares war, then that's the decision that has been made and then I will do whatever I can to support my country.

All in all, it's wasn't a bad weekend and even in the midst of all of the craziness in the world... we have hope.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com