Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-03-10 - 9:27 a.m.

Monday madness

What a beatufiul weekend! I even managed to spend some of it outside. Saturday was so beautiful that neither of us could stand to stay inside. My love got the chain saw and I found my work gloves and we set out to tame the brush in front of our house.

During one of the recent winter storms, we'd had a few of the trees in front of our house die, get blown over and just plain fall over. We decided that at the first opportunity, we'd get them out of there. The first Opportunity was Saturday. One of the trees had fallen over and managed to wedge itself between two trees, and that's what was keeping it from kissing the ground. After some judicious application of chainsaw machismo it was on the ground in a few nicely cut pieces. The same went for a dead tree hanging out over the roadway and another one that was so dead and rotting that I could push it over with my bare hand (I only needed ONE hand to push this tree over... it had already lost its top at some point, and was mabe 8 feet tall).

We talked to our neighbor for our once yearly visit. I did the "if the dogs bother you, or if WE bother you, please let us know" type of conversation and then in passing we got more information about the land we bought. It seems that many years ago (like 20); the land behind where we both live on was a dirt race track and the lots we DO live on was the parking lot for the race track (that explains all of the strange things we've found in the yard.... the dog dug up a woman's shoe the other day.. both of us were a bit uneasy until we made sure there wasn't a woman attached to it.... living out in the country... you never can tell.).

We got all of the cut up wood assembled in one place and decided to burn it (what else can ya do with pine, anyways)? Well to make a long story short, the burn didn't happen. Stuff was just too wet. We even tried gasoline (I know, I know.. I TRIED to tell him); but we got about two minutes worth of fire until the gasoline burned off then smoke then nothing.

Hopefully it'll all be dry enough to burn this coming weekend (the weather between now and then is supposed to be dry, so we'll see).



I got a good start on my A&S project this weekend. I got the warp measured and managed to get the loop warped before my love called a halt to the loom preparations and made me take a break (bless him). I spent several hours on Saturday just getting the warp through the reed (called sleying) and then the better part of Sunday threading the heddles; so a break was the right call. By the time dinner happened (around 7:30 last night); I was ready to either sit and cry or throw it all in the trash, I hadn't decided which but my hand was itching to grab the scissors.

Tonight, I've got to work on tension of the individual strands and then I should be ready to weave. So far, it appears that I managed to get the reed sleyed and the heddles threaded correctly, now, as for the rest, time will tell.



Today marks another "we're getting back to normal" milestone. We're back to having someone come and help me beat back the slow creep of stuff and clutter. Karin called me last week and asked if we were ready for her to come back and her question was met with a very tentative "are you sure you're up to it" and once she said she was, the next comment was "YESYESYESYESYESYESYES". So when we get home tonight, it will all be mostly pristine and I won't have to do much but futz with my weaving or my cross stitch and be a good dog-mom I *love* Mondays like that.



Tomorrow night is something good on tv (I can't remember what) and Wednesday I'm meeting a friend at the library, she has info on Islamic textiles. That will help with the documentation side of things. We tried to go to the Colonial Heights library (it's where we have our canton meetings); but they didn't have anything that would be of any help, and they only have a reciprical agreement with Chesterfield County and it's $21.00 for a library card. They won't even consider Inter Library Loan without a library card and right now, we've got to hold on to every bit of cash we can; so a library card isn't in the budget until after the 21st; and who knows at that point.

Work is confusing but going okay. I don't get the "we've got like 30,000 of these things to enter, but we're only getting like 100 a day, so we have to divide them up between like 20 people; then the rest of the time is spent searching the datasebase trying to link forms together. Yee haw.. what fun.

And for the quiz of the day.... I'm.....Duke Gyrth
Which Atlantian Duke are you?

brought to you by Quizilla



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com