Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-03-03 - 8:36 a.m.

Monday Arrangements

Today.. .I spent the weekend hoping it would never come. I've got to do something this evening that I don't really want to do, but I have to. Tonight at 7:00 will be the first time I'd been there since my mother died almost four years ago. It's a place I've done my best to avoid like the plague. As I told my love this morning, I'm no good at this stuff. I don't have much experience with it. Our friends aren't supposed to be dying; we're still too young. I guess no one thought to ask us before the unthinkable happened. Go figure.

As a kid, I could hide or play sick, as an adult, I need to be there for my friend. That's really the bottom line.

I personally don't like or "believe" in funerals except as a way for the family and friends to get closure.

I don't go to wakes or viewings. I see viewings as a very macabre sort of thing. Just before my father died, I took a class on death and dying and found out what happens in the mortuary and how they get people to look the way they do. I'm not going to go into details, but let's just say I prefer the living to the dead. I prefer the memories I have of the person being alive, happy, a hug or a handshake to someone "sleeping". But that's just me. Not everyone is that way.

We didn't go to the wake because, well, I'd rather do my goodbyes privately. That's just the way I am. It doesn't mean I cared for him any less.



We spent Saturday cleaning house for the Heralds meeting on Sunday. We finallybroke down and bought an air purifier and ionizer.. I don't know how it works, but it IS working. We also bought a new vacuum cleaner.. it's called a "shark". It's one of those "as seen on tv" sorts of things. The price was right and it's a cannister (with a dust collection cup instead of a bag), which is what we wanted. We went to the Electrolux store and they wanted $1,100 for their bottom of the line cannister one and you had to have bags for it. Well, if the first pass is any indication, it works wonderfully well!

I'm sure you all were sitting there with baited breath wondering about the new vacuum cleaner.

Yep.. today has a cloud over it for some reason. On a more positive note.. I think Spring is on its way! I for one, can't wait! I've already got stuff to plant!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com