Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-02-20 - 8:53 a.m.

How much is that Doggie....

Today, I'm sort of in a mini-quandry about my diary. Not a real one, more of a self-made one. Here's the "problem". I come here every day (sometimes more than once a day) and most of the time, it's just random babbling off the top of my head, which I'm sure you all are just waiting for (that was sarcasm); but occasionally there are real thoughts in there that tend to leak out of my fingers. I guess the question is should it be quality over quantity and who determines what's "quality". I guess the "who" would be me. It's my diary. This is the first time in a long time that I've had a diary that I've been so good at keeping. With the written ones, it lasts for a few days and then I'm on to the next thing(tm). This diary has been ongoing now for almost a year (so sayeth the email I got asking me to renew my Gold Membership); and I have to say it's been a pretty cool chronicle of my life this past year.

Occasionally I go back and read some of my older entries and compare then and now. I'm going to keep writing here, the question is... what. I guess that remains to be seen.



Last night, I saw what is probably the worst waste of video tape in my entire almost-37 years of existence. I'm not sure what channel it was on, but "I'm a Celebrity, Get me out of here!" was by far the worst "reality-based" television show on the planet if not the galaxy. They've taken 10 minor stars put them in a clearing in the Australian rainforest for 15 days. WE, the people watching this drivel, get to vote on which of the celebrities gets to do something stupid so they can eat something other than rice and beans. I have to admit, watching Melissa Rivers (daughter of Joan) wearing see through plastic clown pants pouring bugs and rats (things found in "nature") down her pants was a sight to behold; but really.... and oh yeah.. tonight, we get to watch one of them go into a place that's supposedly heavily laden to crocs to rescue something for food... can we say "Crikey!" I think the dogs need to be flossed or something tonight...

On the way into work this morning, there was a report about a little girl who was attacked by a rottweiler puppy. She was saved by two fire fighters who happened to be at the firehouse across the street from where she was attacked. One man tried to pull the dog off and the second one growled at the puppy and it ran away. They caught it later and put it down. The little girl had 11 puncture wounds.

Now it's only a matter of time before people start the "rotties are vicious!" lamentation and demand that all rotties be euthanized. In Detroit, no one under the age of 17 can own a pit bull and any that are "rescued" by the ASPCA are put down as unadoptable. No trial, no second chance, they are put down because they have no way to determine how the dog was treated before they came into the picture; and as a breed they are "aggressive". It's sad. I am a strong believer in nurture. Even dogs that are bred to be "aggressive" can be sweet and loveable; but it all depends on how they were raised and some people think aggressive is good. In the case of the little girl here in Richmond, I have to ask a few questions...
1. where was the dog's owner
2. Where was the little girl's parent/guardian?
3. What was the ENTIRE set of circumstances that led up to all of this?
I'm not saying that she was at fault or that the dog was; but let's get the facts before we charge off and put a dog down. There is no telling what happened; but the dog didn't get a fair trial. Unless the dog was trained to be aggressive; there has to be a reason. They don't just decide to attack.

It used to be that a dog that bit a human was put in quarantine for two weeks and after that time if there were no signs of rabies, it was returned to the owner, not put down.

It wasn't a full grown dog that couldn't be trained not to bite people. It was a puppy for chrissakes! The old thought that once a dog tastes human blood it will always attack is poppycock!

Don't get me wrong, I'm sorry for the little girl.. VERY sorry. That had to be one of the most frightening experiences of her life thus far. She may have physical and mental scars for a long time to come. It was horrible. There's no doubt about that. I agree that something should be done, but I think euthanizing is a bit much.

As I said when I talked about this here this past summer... there are kids who see my dachshund and run up to her full force. A strange kid running up to a strange dog. Is that a recipe for disaster or what? "She won't bite me... she's too little". They get a quick education that even little dogs can hurt.

I can't say that the animals are 100 percent blameless, but I swear, my mother would have jerked my arm off and a knot in my butt if I tried to run up to a strange dog. Now parents just stand there and watch, leaving it up to ME (the dog owner) to make sure my dog doesn't bite their child (and I do). I go to great lengths to make sure my sweet lil girl won't hurt anyone, but geez.. gimme some help folks!

But then again, if it were up to me, there wouldn't be any animals in shelters and all animals would have warm LOVING homes and none would be involved in dogfighting and all would be safe.



Everyone say a prayer, light a candle, do whatever it takes for my love. He's waiting to hear about a contract job. They told him he would hear something either late yesterday or today. I hope he hears and it's a job offer... that would put an end to a LOT of stress for us.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com