Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-02-20 - 1:31 p.m.

Family "Relations"

Doncha just love family. I do.. I mean I really really do.

Here's an example. My sister has been trying to keep up with my father's side of the family since my father died, close to 10 years ago now. She's had to make all of the overtures and all of the contacts. She's been unable to do it for the past month because she's been recovering from some serious surgery.

Now, they all have her contact information, including cell phone numbers for every member of her family (there are four of them).

We have an Aunt and Uncle (Juanita and John) who were about the only ones out of my fathers other 11 brother and sisters who gave us the time of day. They came and visited a few times a year (he was the Leavenworth prison guard) and they flew out to Va when my father died....They are the ones I have the most wonderful memories of...

Anyways.. my sister logged onto the family website to ask how our Uncle John is doing (he's been ill with cancer but going through treatment). One of my Aunts writes back that he died on Jan. 4th.

No one bothered to tell us. And ya know, they are the type of people to say "ya know.. Junior's (that's what they called my dad) family didn't even send flowers".

My sister was so livid, she asked that her information be removed from the website and that it's her intention to sever this last tie with the family. If they want to be left alone, let them.

I can't say I blame her. I left them alone when my father died. I knew then I wanted no part of people who had no compassion for someone grieving so much. It took my sister a bit longer to realize how cold hearted they can be.

I'll miss my Uncle John, it's always been a comfort knowing he was just on the planet, you know?

I have to wonder how my Aunt Juanita is doing, though. They had no children (their three boys died in an accident many years ago); so she's sort of alone now.

Oh... and there's other news.. but I'll let my love tell you :) (if it's not there yet, it will be shortly, I'm sure)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com