Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-02-16 - 10:29 a.m.

Life as usual :(

Valentine's Day was.... sad, to say the least.

I was pretty upbeat until around 3:00 or so, when I got the email from my love telling me that my bird Riley, was gone. We don't know how, or why, but there he was at the bottom of his cage not breathing.

In case you're wondering, I don't have access to a telephone during the day since I'm not at the call center and email was the only way to reach me directly. We have one telephone in the "phone room" for all 100 of us. We can make outgoing calls, but we can't receive incoming calls. I went to the phone room and called him. I tried not to cry, but death does that to me. We talked about what to do with the body and how he'd take care of it (by the time I got home, it would be too dark and with the impending storm it would be a few days before we could get to the task. That seemed hardly fitting for a little 35 gram bird that gave us so much beautiful music almost constantly for 4 years.

Alan, the keeper of my heart took care of the task for me, and I know that he has a big hear and it was hard for him, too. As much as he tries to be "macho" I know that in his heart, he grieves just like I do.

He picked me up after work and we went out for an inexpensive dinner (for me, it was basically anything to not go home yet and stare at that empty cage.

We got home, and as usual, the dogs were more than happy to see us; but things were just so quiet it seemed eerie.

We settled in for the evening, knowing that tomorrow we had out work cut out for us. I turned off the light to the dining room and was about to call out my usual "nighty night birdy boy" when I realized he wasn't there. That led to another round of tears.

Saturday dawned cold and drizzly at 6AM as usual; except there wasn't a Good Morning Birdy Boy with a happy song in response. When I opened the door to let the dog out, I got a full-force Saturday morning sample of weather and let me tell you it wasn't happy joints weather. And of course, since I went to bed without my meds on Friday night, my blood sugar was doing bad things when I woke up (177); so I wasn't feeling all that great.. I hung around, took my medicine (156 an hour alter and around 11:30, I ate lunch (144). By around 1:00' my blood sugar was at 120; and I was feeling a LOT better.

We celebrated the day by spending it together cleaning the kitchen. I mean we practically nuked the whole thing and started over. It took us about 2.5 hours to get it all done, but boy was there a sense of accomplishment for both of us.

We decided to brave the stores and get a copy of the new Sims for Playstation2; that's been fun.

Around 7:00 or so, I got started on the birthday cake for the canton meeting today. While it's not my absolute best work, you can certainly tell what it is. I can honestly say that I'll never be as good at cake decorating as Aithne, but for someone who only dabbles in it about once a year or so, it's not bad. I made a 1/2 sheet cake (that in itself was something to behold... THREE cake mixes); and then I iced it while, trimmed it in green and then put the canton arms in the center (okay.. not in the exact center, I was a bit off, but not bad for eyeballing). The Yellow is yellow, the river is purple and the castle is black, that's about all anyone can ask for; add to that the fact that I had to free hand "happy birthday" at the bottom and you'd be impressed too!

Of course, now everyone's worried about the weather, and I can't say I blame them. This stuff out there is pretty nasty and only going to get worse (so they say); but I'll believe the 10-15 inches of "precipitation" they reported last night when I'm up to my mid-calves.

I get to run the meeting today, so I made an executive decision to have it during the A&S gathering so we wouldn't be there after dark when ice is especially treacherous.

The quarterly and end of the year reports are done and ready for the mail (well, I still need copies of them); and the kitchen is back to its top notch

condition.

Other than that; not much else going on... life as usual.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com