Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-02-11 - 9:29 a.m.

Perspective

Well, the quarterly report appears to be finished. I was up at 4:30 this morning working on and working through some stress in the solitude of a still sleeping household. That's always nice. I've been stressing about that report for about a week or so now. I'm glad it's over now.



I'm now on to filling out the application for that job I'm trying to get. They've asked for three professional references. So far, I have two and I'm working on the third one. Now, here's the question. For Professional references, I assume that means references from people I've worked with. Does the SCA equate to work? Would the work I do as an exchequer/herald/mol/chirurgeon count as "professional"? Probably not; but it would certainly be nice.

That was the update on life on my planet, now I'm going to pick a topic and do a little writing.

I've been thinking a lot about how perspective can change. For the past few weeks and months, I've been working hard on changing how I look at things. It's not easy. Where I once was completely certain someone was "out to get me", I'm now better able to say to myself that not everyone has a motive and that while something didn't go my way, it doesn't mean the entire world is consipiring against me.

Where I once saw gloom and doom and the negative, I've been finding that with a little hard work, the positives are creeping in and I have to admit that it's brightened things up tremendously. I've always been a pessimist. I've always been able to assign the darkest of motives and thoughts to other people and watch the self fulfilling prophecy come to pass.

At some point between the end of the weekend and this morning, something solidified for me. I really enjoyed the event and the ones in recent months. I think the change is me. Instead of finding fault, I'm finding something to do. Instead of sitting there waiting for people to come to me and grouse when they don't, I'm inviting them in. Instead of sitting there with a sour expression and wondering why no one speaks to me, I'm speaking first and it's with a happy tone, not grumbles and attitude.

I get discouraged when I don't see the change in me on a day to day basis, but when I compare the me now to the me of last year, the change is VERY noticeable; and I like what I see.

I'm changing me in small ways, and I am very happy with the results. It's a slow process, but thanks to a lot of good friends that I got to know a lot better thanks to Diaryland (you know who you are); I'm evolving into a much better, calmer, happier me.

I'm not done yet, but it sure is heartening to see the changes.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com