Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-02-03 - 9:00 a.m.

History and the Present

I mentioned this to Gorm last night in passing, but it's stayed with me ever since.

My head is still trying to piece together Saturday. It was a groggy day full of sadness and emptiness. I didn't know those seven who died, but it feels like I did.

My mind has made a correlation between events happening right now and those that happened around 20 years ago... the echo of "those who don't remember history are doomed to repeat it" keeps echoing. (I know that quote isn't quite right, but you get my point).

1986 - Challenger

2003 - Columbia

1991 - War with Iraq

2003 - War with Iraq

Does anyone else see a pattern here?

I agree wholeheartedly that we should keep reaching for the stars and continue space exploration. There is no other way to honor those people who died to make it possible.

I just have to wonder what it is we're forgetting... why is history repeating itself to some degree.

Unfortuantely, due to circumstances beyond our control, Gorm and I aren't going to be able to make it to Ymir this coming weekend. We had hoped beyond hope to get there, but finances and the possibility of a new career for Gorm (he'll have to tell you all about that) have put Ymir just out of reach for us.

I'll be home, enjoying what I have, and Gorm will be at an employment fair.

I'm really looking forward to going home in the evenings and on the weekends. I like my life. It's full of love and acceptance and I feel like I can move mountains. It's just wonderful when you feel supported and surrounded by loving people.

UPDATE
As of 12:45 this afternoon, it looks as if Gorm and I are going to Ymir after all. We decided a day surrounded by friends is just the ticket for us! We're not bringing the pavilion, so we're just going to have to "cop a squat" where we can find one. Gorm has a new rapier shirt, and I'll probably wear my blue and red.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com