Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-01-21 - 9:05 a.m.

A different Path

Well, it's Tuesday again... I was home sick yesterday with more of the same old sinus infection. I took Nyquil last night and I'm still rather fuzzy headed this morning.

Not a whole heck of a lot going on in my world right now, but there's something in the near future that's coming up that may make my job outlook a bit brighter.

It appears that my path might be turning down a new road. I've been doing a lot of thinking and talking with my love, and of course, he's been just wonderfully supportive. After several days of conversation and working out a plan, we've decided that my best bet is for me to go back to college and finally get that degree I've been needing. It'll be night school, and it'll take forever. I guess by now you're all wondering what it is I want to learn... well, I've been thinking along those lines too. I want something that's interesting to me and something that I can do to make a difference.

It's odd. I feel like I'm 15 years old again, deciding what I want to be when I grow up.

I've decided to conduct an information survey. Now, I realize that I'm never going to be a rocket scientist (that's for the truly brilliant, while I'm merely very bright); but it would help me a lot in choosing a path if I could find out a few things...

What do you like the MOST about your career? What do you like the LEAST about your career? If you had to do it all over again (the education, the "dues paying"), would you have? What advice would you give someone looking to enter your field?

Lastly, what advice would you give to someone like me, who is looking to start a new career "late in life"?

I'll let you know how the search goes. So far, I'm looking into going back to Community College for an Associates Degree (perhaps in Nursing, that part is up in the air at this point).

I've even considering becoming a veterinary technician, so I could do something with animals; or maybe just a medical assistant.

So right now, my career path is at a fork in the road and I need to choose what it is I want to do for the next 20-30 years of my life. I'm having a hard time shoosing at 36, how in the world does a 15 year old make such a choice?

On another note, I had to take Sphygo to the vet this morning. His ears are bothering him and we think he's got an ear infection. It was just so funny, watching me trying to coax this big baby into the truck, and he didn't want ANY part of it. I had to pick him up from a limp dead-dog lift and get him into the truck. Poor thing, he probably thought he was being sent away again.

I brought him into the office and they fell in love with him at once :) I asked them to weigh him for me, just so I could have an idea of what he weighs. I've been telling people he weighs about 45 pounds and I didn't really know. Well, I'm happy to report that he weighs exactly 45 pounds, one ounce. He weighed that same amount about six months ago, so he can't be traumatized by living with us but so much :)

**Update** the Vet just called. They're going to have to sedate him to use the otoscope. They think he's got a pretty bad ear infection and he may have a perforated ear drum. They called to get permission for anesthesia and surgery shoudl he need it, but the bright side is, he'll be able to come home tonight. We haven't had him two months yet, but that dog just grows on you. I can't imagine NOT having him now.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com