Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2003-01-10 - 9:16 a.m.

Comfortable Living

I just started to fill out the questionnaire for which of the oft-misunderstood LOTR characters I am. Thee's one problem... and I really hate to admit it.... but I neve read the books.. and the movies.. well, they were entertainment, so it was kinda in one ear and out the other...eye candy and nothing more. Yes, I know.. the villagers are leaving Balynar's house and heading over to burn my house. Oh well, just consider me one of the Great Unwashed.

I'm a bit tired and somewhat worn today. I didn't sleep well last night. It was too warm in the house and I've got too much on my mind (packing for 12th night and not wanting to forget anything).

We're leaving work at 3:00 today so we can go home and pack in quiet luxury, change the sheets and unload the dishwasher, etc. We have housesitters this weekend, and I'd like things at least reasonable, if they can't be spotless.

I just have to say that I don't know how people who work full time manage to have a spotlessly clean house. I have a person who comes to clean twice a month and we're not home that often, so tell me, how in the world can we make such a mess?

We got home a little late last night (by about 10 minutes); and my love cooked dinner while I did a blitz-cleaning for our soon-to-be-arriving dinner guest. Everything was fine until we got to the vacuum part... and well, it doesn't suck. Yes, that's the problem... every one we buy has a problem with the beater portion of the thing.. it gets clogged and just doesn't suck, so we have to take it apart and clean out all the "stuff" in it. It usually has a cleaning failure when we have the least amount of time to fix it. Like last night.

Oh, did I mention that adding ONE 45 dog means that we have about 45 pounds of dog hair to be vacuumed. I'm seriously thinking about just buying a shop vac. The 45 pounds of dog hair is an overstatement.... but I really can't stand seeing dog (or cat hair) that's not attached to the appropriate animal. I hate seeing in on the floor or the sofa, or the carpet or the... well, you get my drift (*shudder*).

We leave today, we'll be gone for the weekend to be home on Sunday... Sunday afternoon will be unpacking and a make up with the animals session then I'll see about fixing the vacuum cleaner so I can at least get that done.

I'm trying to take Niobe's attitude. I want to create a comfy and relaxing atmosphere for people to visit. Comforters and blankets are for pullling over oneself, and it's okay if things aren't "perfect". Comfy is just wonderful.

The house is a bit more "lived-in" than I'd like, and I intend to work on it some. But there are some things that are more important than a spotless and perfect house.

Clutter makes me nervous and downright grumpy. It'll get worked out, I just have to be patient... in the immortal words of my love... patience.. patience... yeah yeah, how long will *that* take?

I hope everyone has a great 12th Night or a wonderful weekend, whichever.

I think I need a part time job, or at least a different job that either pays better or the benefits don't cost as much. Either way... I'm paid more than I was for the state, but I bring home less. This is getting to be a real problem.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com