Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-12-30 - 9:21 a.m.

Christmas

Christmas is over.. .Thank God! I love Christmas, don't get me wrong. I loved having a friend come and house sit while we were in PA. I loved all of the wonderful gifts I got, and I was outrageously excited to see if folks liked the gifts I gave them. But all in all, I'm just incredibly, beside myself, over the top happy to be home. We came home on Friday, to beat the rush, and it took us 8 hours to complete a 5 hour (roughly) trip. We got stuck on the Beltway and it took us about 2.5 hours to go 22 miles (thank you for that WONDERFUL present Gov. Gilmore and your no car tax so let's short the road fund)...

As for what I receied at Christmas, well, the list is HUGE. To start with, I have a stuffed Unicorn that's larger than most 5 year olds, a set of 5 copper and brass kitchen cannisters (the kind with the LARGE mouth and rubber gaskets that fit inside the lid.. they're airtight), a wooden recipe box with recipe cards, a cuisinart food processor and blender, a cone holder, a bobbin winder, a Here by Wyvers pattern book for weaving, cross stitching, etc., several books on the history of weaving, a warping paddle and rigid heddle, one cone of variegated blue and tourquoise chenille "flat" yarn and three gift certificates (one from Michael's one from Borders, and one from the Lamb's Wool (a weaving shop local to my in-laws), an origami desk calendar (you use the previous day's instructions to make the art for that day), and a new coat! My love got a deck of pinochle cards in his stocking that I'm inheriting to make cards for card weaving (I started that project at 6AM this morning).

He got a digital camera and some clothes and his parents gave both of us a PS2. We've been having loads of fun with both new toys!

The day after Christmas, we had to go out into the world to exchange my new coat for one that fit, and to go to the weaving shop and redeem my gift certificate. It was great to go to a weaving store, feel the spools of yarn and to actually see what I'm buying instead of just out of a catalog. I bought a cone winder and 24 bobbins for the bobbin winder, using all of my gift certificate.

We made it home and we were both exhausted. All I wanted to do was hug the puppies, pet the kitties and go to sleep... but it was not to be. Our housesitter was there, and she had a friend visiting, so we had to be at least cordial.

We got dinner on the way home, I put away some of the loot, my love set up the playstation in the living room and played a few games before we collapsed from exhaustion.

Saturday dawned chilly and bright. I went out into the world to blow a Michael's gift certificate and get a few things we needed for dinner while my love stayed home and played hockey on the PS2. I was good with that, I needed some me time and he needed some "no people" time. By the time I came home, I was needed "no people" time in the worst way.

Our house sitter left early Sunday morning, so I had the day to put the house back together and finally finish the red and blue demo "thing" I had set up on my loom since September (thanks to my mother in law's wonderful presents). I got the table runner cut off the loom, edged on the sewing machine and then I threw it in the wash to see what the finished project looks like. It filled out just wonderfully! It's now soft and comfy, not so "sticky". Each of the fibers swelled a tiny bit, so now it's a very tight weave. I took my sett tool and made a 1 x 1 piece of weaving with the chenille, finished that and put it in the wash as well to see what the finished product would look like. It'll be WONDERFUL! I'm going to make a scarf to go with my new coat :)

Once the house is put back together all the way, and I visit with my sister on New Year's day, I plan to sit and weave my new scarf. I can't wait!

Tonight is bowling, which means we won't get back home until around midnight, but we're hoping that tomorrow is a half day, so that makes things bearable.

In short, it was good to spend the holidays surrounded by family (my mother in law is definitely warming up to me) and to enjoy a few days off.

It's good to be home, and I really didn't even mind coming to work today. This is long enough, so I'd better go.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas, full to the brim with love and good friends.

Here's hoping your New Year is wonderful and filled with the joy and goodness that makes us all happy and fulfilled. Here's another set of song lyrics that just seem appropriate. Unfortuatnely, I can't remember the whole song, but the chorus is what's important

Christmas Wish

Of all the great wishes,
In a wonderful world
I'd only ask for three

There'd be peace on earth
Good will among men
and love in all that we do



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com