Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-12-24 - 9:12 a.m.

Christmas, Past and Present.

As you can tell (if you're paying attention); my diary has changed a little. Nothing drastic, but a change nonetheless, we will see if it is a positive one or not, but it was fun making the change and planning what I wanted and then with the help of a good friend (thank you Sarna!) making it happen.

I have so many thoughts in my head today I don't know where to start. Some are about Christmas, so I guess that would be a great place to begin.

I'm sure this comes as a shock to some of you, but I miss my family. The way it was.... a family of a Mother and Father, a sister and a brother. I miss a tree overflowing with presents, a completely decorated house, and the excitement and wonder. I miss Christmas Even church services. I miss the entire package.

Yep, I know, as the saying goes, you can't go home again. First off, the pajamas wouldn't fit, and the bed would be really too small for two.

I miss having my parents not being around most of the time, but I really miss them at Christmas. I've been thinking about them a lot lately. Christmas makes me reminisce, and I can't do that without thinking of them. They made my Christmases as a child so wonderful. They helped me keep the right perspective and realize that while the present haul was respectable, that wasn't what Christmas was about.

I've been trying to find a way to invite them to share my Christmases now... to find a way to remember them at Christmas. Thanks to Dame Anne, I've found a way. Next year, then plan is for two angels on our Christmas tree. (Even if we do go to PA next year, we're having a tree..I'v missed not having one the past two years). The mistake I made this year, was not decorating.

My love's grandmother sent us Christmas. That's the best way to explain it. We got home from work last week and this fairly large box (about the size of a television) was on our front porch. We looked at the address, and it was addressed to us, but the return address was from a place neither of us recognized, so we opened the box and inside was three gifts. One of which was large, and appeared to be pretty worse off for the trip. Alan made the decision that the two smaller gifts would wait until Christmas, but that we should open the one that was tattered and torn. I'm so glad we did! What we found was an adorable inside decoration.

It's about three feet or so long (I may be exaggerating, but not by much). It's a scene of a family of snowmen, two of the smaller ones are in a wooden wheelbarrow, and the two larger ones are beisde the handles... these snowmen have legs and feet. The smaller ones are carrying small wrapped presents and they're all smiling with rosy cheeks and carrot-shaped noses. We immediately cleared off a space on the mantle and that's where it's been. That one gift brightened things up for me considerably. I've been excited ever since.

As a child, I loved Christmas. Not just because of the presents (although they helped), but because of the overall feeling of Christmas and the want for peace. At Christmas, more than any other time of the year, it seemed like peace was actually possible. People are friendlier and nicer to family members and even total strangers. I never really understood why we couldn't be that way all year. Now that I'm an adult, I still wonder why.

I made my love promise when we first met that Christmas, birthdays and anniversaries wouldn't be about buying clothes and necessities... it would be about FUN things. It wasn't hard to convince him that he'd rather have something fun than a package of new underwear!

This year, we're going to his parents for Christmas (as we did last year). About a week or so ago, I was lamenting the fact that we don't have any Christmas traditions of our own, and that since we don't have children, the traditions aren't important. I'm strating to think that our tradition is going to his parents. As my love explained to me during a bout of "life isn't fair"... that he loves me, and that I have the opportunity to spoil him and love him 364 days out of the year, letting his mother have ONE day isn't a hardship. I want him to see his parents as much as possible, because I know that one day, he won't be able to and that's going to be hard for him... I want him to have good recent memories of his parents. Something I don't have.

I had some other things I wanted to say, but the words aren't really flowing today and I'm editing quite a bit, so it must be time to finish this.

To all of my friends, and my self-made family, please please please have a wonderful Christmas. Be kind to others, but most of all, be kind to yourself. Thank you all for being part of my life, and for giving me such incredible support throughout the year. I cherish all of you. You're all wonderful and incredible people, and I feel so rich for knowing you.

MERRY CHRISTMAS



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com