Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-12-10 - 10:07 a.m.

Phone Rooms, Houdini and his partner in crime

It's tuesday. And things around the office are getting confusing to say the least.

They have now taken away the phone room. With those who have phone access, it's not that big of a deal... for those of us who have phones but aren't supposed to use them for private calls, it's a semi-big hairy deal. For those of us who occasionally need to make phone calls that we don't need the other 100plus people in the office knowing about, it's a HUGE hairy deal. The phone room had a desk, a chair and phone and a DOOR.

Now we have to use the phones in the break room, or the storage area (but we can't close the door in case someone needs something work related)... so in short, at this point, there is no place in our office where one can make a private phone call that is not within the hearing of others. That sucks.. I personally don't like my co-workers knowing all of my business. People have taken to using their cell phones in the bathrooms to get privacy (that's not private either). We can't use the stairwell, because we can't get back in and the reception in there is lousy anyway.

They're supposedly going to have other phones installed somewhere on our floor, but all of the offices are now in use, and there really isn't any place that's private.

I guess I'll need to stay home when I have such a call to make . Seems rather stupid to me.

Now.. for a different spin on things... last night was the start of our work bowling league. To be honest, I stunk up the joint. My handicap is a 138.

It was fine, but we got home way late (midnight) and by the time we got things together enough to get to sleep, it was after 12:30. (No, the dogs weren't outside the whole time. I came home at 6:00, to find that Sphygo had already found a way in through the mudroom (the door doesn't latch completely, as I discovered last night). He spent the day in the laundry room, nice and dry and non-destructive. Which gives me an idea for a month or so from now... put a doggy door in the mud room door and he can come in and out as he pleases (but if we close the door between the mud room and the rest of the house, he won't have free reign and the cats can't get out through the door. This dog is one incredible escape artist.

I came home after work and before bowling to bring the dog in, let honey out and crate Spygo. I arrived at home and no Sphygo.... I opened the back door and called him, and no Sphygo. I closed the door and then opened it to go outside and start the search, and there he was. I brought him into the bedroom and put him in his crate. I closed the latch (I checked it to be sure) and left the room, closing the door behind me. I let Honey outside and then went on to fill the kong with treats and peanut butter for Sphygo. I opened the bedroom door, and found him sitting on the bed.

I got him off the bed and put him back in his cage and went off in search of something to help keep the door shut. I wasn't gone a minute. I opened the door and there he was, sitting on the bed again, so very proud of himself!

I put him BACK in the crate for the third time and secured the door with a carabiner.

I went to the back door, opened it and called for Honey.. I heard some scrambling from the mudroom and saw Honey running down the deck to the door I had open. I followed her trail back to where she had come from and realized that the mudroom door was open.

That's when I realized that Sphygo wasn't cold or damp and he appeared to be well rested.. he'd been inside all day the little cute sneak!

On the way to bowling, I stopped at the PetSmart and did some quick research, finding that camomile is a good herbal alternative to prescription medications for calming anxiety.

Last night was nice sleeping all the way around.. we've got the cool mist humidifier going; and Alan put Sphygo in his crate and watched a little tv, gently trying to calm him down to go to sleep. We gave him quite a bit less than the recommended "dosage", about 1/2 of what they suggested, and it was just enough to calm him down into a nice doggy slumber... he woke up at 6:00 this morning ready to go out, but not nearly as frantic as he had been.

This morning, he went back into his crate as easy as you please... and no, he's not drugged or anything, he's just not so frantic and stressed over every little thing.

The plan is to save that for sleeping, so he can get used to his crate.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com