Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-12-08 - 8:27 p.m.

Christmas Spirit, Where Art Thou?

Dear Christmas:

Where are you? I haven't seen you around yet this year, maybe it's still too early, I don't know. The stores and the radio seem to be trying to force Christmas to bloom, and I have to tell them all, at least for me, it's not working.

I thought the snow we had would help, but it was more of a nuisance than anything related to Christmas.

I was sorta half-hoping that Thanksiving would usher in the feelings of Christmas, but nope, it wasn't there either. See, it's been a "rule" around our house and while I was growing up that Christmas lists had to be on the fridge before Thanksgiving dinner. I had lots of memories as a kid sitting down on Thanksgiving day with all the catalogs making my list. I'd usually forgotten what was on my list by Christmas day, and therefore happy with whatever I got.

Lately, another ritual around this time of year means Christmas isn't far off... it's Unevent. I went there, did that, came home a bit wiser and more convinced that I am too involved.

There's not going to be a Christmas party at work this year (the email came out on Friday). To make a long story short, they're a new company, and being clsoed for the snow last week put a damper on the available cash. We can, of course, do a secret santa gift exchange, and we can decorate our cubes and office doors, but that's as far as Christmas will go.

We're not going to be home for Christmas, and decorating and baking and that sort of stuff for the Holidays just don't seem worth the effort if it's just the two of us. It would be different if we had kids, I spose. But we don't, and it's a waste of time and energy and money we don't really have to try to decorate and bake and etc.

In short, I'm in a pre-Christmas funk and I need some relief. I'm not sure how I need the relief to come, but I've already tried the usual Christmas Spirit stuff and so far, it's no where to be seen.

So, if you're out wandering about and you see the Christmas Spirit out there, pleae tell him or her to drop by my place and spread some Christmas Cheer my way, will ya? I'd really appreciate it.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com