Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-11-27 - 8:57 a.m.

Buddy/Sphygo Update

Well, I'm happy to report that things are better around the Rhi and Gorm household.

The new dog, Buddy/Sphygo managed to sleep through the night without cat hunting. He only got up and off the bed when we got up to go to the bathroom, and he spent most of the night down at the foot of the bed instead of trying to crawl in between us at the head of the bed.

After a day of being outside, he had about ten minutes of hyper-ness, then he was just a very calm little guy. His pawing wasn't nearly as painful (it wasn't as hard), and he wasn't "in your face" all the time.

We shortened a link-type leash and attached it to his collar and I put the wrist part around my ankle. Since he was so quiet, the cats were coming out to investigate. Everytime he made a move towards the cat, I said no and gave a slight tug on the leash. It only took twice and he smartened up enough to look and sniff, but not try to chase.

I went to put him in crate this morning and he howled and carried on and whined that when I let him out he went straight to the back door and rang the bells. He wanted outside. So that's where he is today.

We bought him a ball last night, and I found a couple of toys that honey doesn't play with (a lamb's wool pawprint shaped "thing" and a red rubber Kong that looks like... well, a pile of poop). I gave him the lambswool thing and he started to chew on it and toss it around. It was so cool to watch! I took the kong and broke up one of his treats, stuffed it inside (it's red, hard rubber and hollow) and then plugged it with peanut butter.

He's also doing very well obeying commands. Last night while dinner was cooking we went through all of his commands and he did them all perfectly. It's amazing what he can do when he's CALM.

On another note, we went shopping for Thanksgiving dinner last night. We actually found a VERY small turkey breast, with ribs and etc., so I can actually stuff a turkey :) We got all of what we need for the fixins for the rest of the meal (including stuff for an apple pie!) I'm going to make the Apple Pie tonight, I think. I have other chores I need to do tonight, but I gotta admit, now that we have a real kitchen that's not the size of a closet, I really love baking and I'm learning to like cooking too.

I'm excited about Thanksgiving. We've got a friend from NC who would otherwise be spending the holiday alone (her plans fell through), so we invited her at the last minute. She's bringing a cranberry orange relish and she's going to make creamed onions when she gets here (I've never had either, so it should be fun).

What I'm thankful for Friends. For the first time in many years, I have people that I really consider to be my friends. Those people who are there with constructive criticism when I need it, and those people who lend a word or two of encouragement when I need that, too. I've found a group of people that I mostly feel comfortable with and I have a hobby that helps me meet the most interesting people! I'm saving the actual list for tomorrow! :)

So come back here tomorrow to see what I've got cooked up :)



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com