Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-11-25 - 9:05 a.m.

After the Weekend.

I've seen lots of folks taking breaks from their diaries over the past few weeks and months. I have to say that I completely understand. In the grand scheme of what you need to do and what you want to do, updating a diary is really the last thing on either list.

I've considered the hiatus myself, but to be honest, it's part of what keeps me sane. It's a place where I can come and write about what's on my mind. Occasionally, I get feedback and that's great! Othertimes, I don't, and ya know, that's good too. Not everything I write needs a comment.

I use MY diary as a way of getting out the things I have going on in my head.. it sort of clears out the rooms in my mind, making way for the more positive or just different thoughts and feelings.

I use other people's diary as a way to keep up with them, so see how they're doing, what's going on in their life and to sometimes just send a thought here and there.

The diaries of my friends lets me stay in contact when the world is moving just too damn fast to keep up with everything and everyone.

Onto another topic.. As I look down at my hands I realize that we have a new member of the family. Sphygo (or Buddy as it is what I call him mostly) became a member of the household yesterday when his original Mommy and Daddy left to go home and he stayed behind.

For the most part, he's a good dog... but he has one problem... he's a cat hunter. His previous owners had cats and they didn't think anything about letting him chase theirs. Well, that's where we part company. I do not tolerate cat chasing in my house. Period. He's a LOT bigger than they are and he can do more damage to them than they can truthfully do to him. And, well, when you're used to dachshund barks, a deep throated bark at 6:30 in the morning can give you extended ceiling time.

My hands have tiny scratches on them from the cat that was hiding under our bed and decided to come out about 11:30 last night.. The dog gave chase, running her into the bathroom, where I tried to pick her up and take her out of the bedroom. The problem was I had to walk past the bed where both dogs were. Honey made a move towards her as I was walking past, and she was already on high alert, and well, I got caught in the process. I screamed when she dug in, and tried to hold her, but she got away and went back under the bed.

He's adjusting pretty good, Honey's adjusting to him and we're working on adjusting to two dogs. The cats, well, we've seen them for a total of about 5 minutes over the past 4 days.

Today, the dogs are in their respective cages and the doors are open to allow the cats some "free" time. The fence is up and in good working order, but I don't want them to spend an entire day out there, until I know they can't get out. So far, they've both run out, used the bathroom and come back in. We'll be home starting Thursday, so depending on the weather, both dogs are going to get their butts tossed outside and we'll go from there.

The fence cost a lot more than we had anticipated, money is tight and that's going to affect Christmas.

Part of me wonders if I've made a huge miscalculation by taking the dog. It's only been less than 24 hours and I know I shouldn't really hope for more than the fact that he doesn't chew up everything in sight. I keep telling myself that in about two weeks or so he'll be so assimilated to the household that everything will be okay.

Right now, I feel like the cause of a lot of upheaval around the house and I'm not sure what I can do about it right now. I can't go backwards.

I feel like I'm walking a tight line between the dog and everyone else. Yeah, I know it's silly, the dog isn't as important as a human, but I want us all to adjust and be happy.

Part of the issue could be that I haven't really had a decent night's sleep since Thursday of last week. I've been majorly stressed about all of this, and it just seems to be compounding.

I've had a stress headache since sometime on Friday. I can't decide if it's really due to stress, or due to my sinuses and all drying out because we've turned the heat on. All I know is, my headache goes away just about the time I drop off to sleep, but I get whammed with it again when I wake up. It's kinda just hanging around at the back of my head and behind one eye, it's frustrating. I can't get rid of it.

Okay... enough whining... I need to go get some work done. If anyone has any ideas on how to break the caat hunting habit, please let me know. This needs to get resolved really quickly.

.

What I'm thankful for I almost forgot this little segment! My first what isn't a what.. it's a WHO. I'm sure you call can guess who is at the top of that list... my love...many of you know him as Alan, Gorm or by a few other non-printable names. I've been told that you learn something from everyone you have more than casual contact.. the things I've learned from him are just too many to mention. The main thing I've learned from him is the capacity for love. No matter what I do or what I manage to come up with, he's always there right beside me, supporting whatever it is. He is patient and does his best to make it happen, regardless of whether it's the easiest thing to do or not. This is the first time in my life I've ever had that kind of support. I look at him, and I have no doubt that he loves me completely and unconditionally. As I've been sitting here today going through my "Christmas List" I realzied that the list I made up a month ago when I started with the excitement of Christmas isn't accurate. There is really very little I want for Christmas this year (and no, I'm not just saying that)... I already have pretty much everything I want. I love you, Alan. Thank you for giving me the best gift I could ever want.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com