Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-06-16 - 10:06 a.m.

My Best Day in the Society

Well (I always seem to start there); I had the absolute most best, incredible fantabulous day on Saturday, and I owe such gratitude to Dame Anne for all of it.

I guess I should start the story at the beginning. About two weeks or more ago, Dame Anne and I conversed in e-mail and we discussed various things, one of which was if I would be going to Highland River for their demo event. We were sort of on the fence about it, and she said that her Majesty had asked about me and would like to spend a few minutes with me. That threw me into a panic unlike any other I've ever had. I immediately started wondering what Her Majesty could possibly want with "below the radar" me. I knew I wasn't in trouble, but there wasn't any other reason I could think of either. I gulped and said I'd that would be cool. I discussed wth Anne a proper gift (I try to never talk to royalty without a gift). Thanks to Anne's help, I worked up some trim on my inkle loom (black, ermine and red--her Majesty's colors!).

We got to site about two hours later than we had anticipated (we had tire blow out on the road, and the spare we had had the wrong size rim, so we had to be towed to a service station, who just happened to have the right size tire out back. $35 later and we're back on our way. We get to site, and I see Anne (under the Royal Dayshade); who tells me to come see her when we're settled. We go over and find a spot next to a closed tent. That was beside the royal dayshade. We set up our stuff, I go in search of a privvy and then we eat lunch. Once all of the little things were taken care of (getting Gorm armored up to do CA and heavy fighting); Beth and I set out to find Dame Anne. She's still under the dayshade, and we sit down for a talk. I get the impression we're waiting for something, but I'm not really sure what. I was going to give the trim I made to Anne and ask her to give it to her Majesty (royals give me the hives); but the next thing I know, I'm in the sort of closed up tent next to where we were "camped" and I'm talking to HER.

Yes that HER. The Queen. My heart was beathing so hard I thought it was going to pop out of my chest. My eyes must have been wide as saucers. I'm sure I said something incredibly stupid (like "I hope you like the trim, it's only about 4 yards, if you'd like more, I'd be happy to make you more" or some such inane chatter.) She invited me to have a seat and she looked at the trim, fingering the ends, and enjoying the feel of the texture of the woven band. I could tell she liked it. She mentioned about having something already made needing trim, so I was just over the top beside myself. I guess I was a lot calmer than I looked. All I can say now, is it's a good thing I was wearing shoes (otherwise she would have seen my toes curling and extending like a litrle kid who just got something neat!

She paused for a moment and asked me if I would do her a great favor and be one of her ladies in waiting for the afternoon and help her and her Head Lady in Waiting during court. I swear, I almost fell off the bench. I said yes, and they gave me the white and blue baldric and then sent me on a mission. I stopped at our little encampment for a drink and I swear I spent the next several hours floating around the site.

Just before court, I had mentioned how uncomfortable I felt because of my dress (it was dirty and had car grease on the hemline, the neckline wasn't right (it was something new I'd created, and I cut the neck too big); so Anne asked Kymber if she had a hood I could borrow. Kymber produced a much worn faded black hood and it went SPENDIDLY with my sea foam green dress. It hid the bad neckline and put me a LOT more at ease. Kymber was just so gracious and helpful, I wanted to hug her. She was incredible!

Yeah, I know, it's just a baldric and it's just for the day, and it doesn't really mean anything in the outside world, but to me, it felt as if someone great had recognized me and felt comfortable enough in my company to want me as part of what they were doing. I got sent on a few errands throughout the afternoon, and various other tasks. Anne gave me a thorough crash course in how to be a lady in waiting. I believe I did a reasonable job. It's not that easy, but it was so much fun, I had the best time I've ever had at an event. I was nervous, but her Majesty put me at ease. When court was over, and it was time for us to leave, I returnd the baldric and said something just as stupid as I did when this journey first started. I'm sure it was "okay" but I want to end things on a more "right" note than I did, so I intend to fix it at the first opportunity. When I returnd the baldric, Her Majesty gave me a token.... two french-hook earrings with ermine spot beads on them. I was just floored. I expected a thank you, and that's about it. I didn't expect anything so incredibly cool! I mean, WOW. How do you top such an incredible day??

You have dinner with three incredible people. Beth, my Love and Dame Anne all had dinner afterwards and we talked a bit, and shared stories, and I learned a lot. I always learn a lot when Anne's around. I keep telling my love that when I grow up, I want to be Anne. She is sweet, funny, truthful, even when it's not the easiest thing to do, she is graceful beyond words and she always knows the right thing to say and do. She puts me at ease the way no other Peer ever has. To quote someone... she is da bomb!

I watch her and I think about what she and I talk about, and I turn it over in my head, and really try to understand what she says. I am not really trying to be like her, I'm trying to be like me, who just happens to like doing a lot of the things she does, and she's been helping me find my way.

Doing things for people and helping where I'm needed or wanted is a part of that. Being a lady in waiting for a day didn't excite me because it was a chance to wear a baldric and let everyone see me (although she does represent the Queen); it was more than I had the opportunity to do things for and spend some time caring for someone that I respect and admire. It was the first time I'd really seen anyone in that capacity upclose. I got to see the inner workings and how hard everyone works to make the dream a reality. For once I felt a part of the Dream everyone talks about. I was there when someone got a Pearl, a Golden Dolphin, an AOA a hippocampus. I got to see their reactions and I got to hear all of the wonderful things Her Majesty had to say to them. Most of the time, I was teary eyed. Yep, it wasn't to me, but I know the words were from the heart and these people were all grateful for the recognition.

When it was over, my feet hurt and my knees were giving me grief for standing... Would I do it again, in a heartbeat! With no complaints and no problems! It was wonderful to put all of that aside and to be physically doing things. I had brought my bobbin lace and my inkle loom to keep me busy throughout the day, but neither one was touched to my delight. It was more fun to be out and around people than to sit off over in the corner and just be on the fringe. By the time we got home, I was exhausted... physically and mentally, but I have such cool memories and thoughts of the day, I can't even describe them.

I hope I did well enough to be asked again someday, but if not, I have this memory of a day that started out horrendously and turned into one of the best days I've ever had in the Society.

Things just keep getting better and better.

In a word... WOW

In two words .... absolutely amazing

in Three words... just awe inspiring

in 4 words... Oh my god, incredible!

in 5 words... the best day ever!

And I'm working on a motto.. it's percolating at the moment, but it's coming! Stay tuned for it soon!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com