Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-06-03 - 4:05 p.m.

The Merry Rose.... my two cents.

Well, it's been a busy (but productive weekend). We got a lot of little tasks done to make way for the larger ones. I managed to borrow that pattern I was looking for and to say it turned out badly would be an understatement. So, not one to be outdone by tissue paper, I grabbed a bolt of muslin and my love and we did the cut-a-hole-throw-it-over-your-head-drape-and-pin method of creating something remotely resembling a cotehardie. I'm reasonably content with what we ended up with. I know it's probably not PERFECT, but it looks like a reasonably facsimilie thereof, and I can make at least one dress out of what I made, so I'm happy.

I spent most of the weekend working on that, refining and working on the fit. It's not perfect, but it's not too tight either. I am still anxious to find out how to draft a REAL cotehardie pattern, but as I said, this will do... it will keep people from howling in fright as I walk past, and that's really the ultimate goal...

Speaking of the ultimate goal... I do have to say one thing about the current thread on the Merry Rose.... if you want people to "be more period" they offer them assistance or GENTLY ask them if there's something you can lend them/show them/help them learn to do.

As many of you know, Gorm and I spent our first years in the SCA floundering, trying our best, and failing miserably in our attempts. I can't tell you how many times we've both considered quitting. We asked for help and our pleas fell on deaf (or near-deaf) ears. We didn't (and still don't) have the money (or the ability) for the monumental tasks that some folks assume everyone can do and afford. Well, to put it bluntly, they're wrong. Not everyone can afford a $400 pavilion. For some people (like us starting out). There are a lot of folks out there who are having financial problems due to layoffs and other factors. To put added pressure on them at this moment isn't unconscionable to say the least.

Someone pointed out that currule chairs would work for someone our size... we tried that, they both broke at Coronation within an hour of each other. They're bulky and they're a pain in the butt to lug around. Not to mention that they're hard to pack when you consider the other 47,900 things you need to bring to an event to be at least moderately comfy.

As for making covers for "offensive" items. When I'm done clothing myself and my Lord in a manner that befits someone who's been in the society for almost five years.. then I'll think about making a slipcover for my heinous chairs.

If you don't like the look of my chairs, or the camp table that I lovingly carry with me, then we'll set up a date for you to take measurements and you can make the covers for me and I'll be more than happy to use them... but between Gorm's office, my upcoming event, buying a house, working overtime, trying to construct an armoring pavilion, and figure out other various items that are absolute necessities of life for both events and normal life.... my time does not allow making slipcovers! (If it did, I wouldn't have an old comforter over the sofa in our living room... I'd make a slipcover for it!

I appreciate all of the help I've received over the cotehardies. You have no idea how grateful I am and how much I'm looking forward to Highland River Melees. Please don't misunderstand me. I'm not thumbing my nose at those who want to help or make things more period, but at this point, there is only so much you can do and only so much money to throw at the perceived problem. I'm not asking for charity or saying "don't help" I'm grateful for all the help we've gotten lately... more than anyone will ever realize. Had this thread started in March, there might have been a chance... this is June; time is slipping through our fingers faster than the ol' sand in the hourglass. There's already not enough hours in the day.... so please please please take it easy on those folks who aren't as period as they could be.

If you're not careful, you'll run those people right out of the SCA, and we'll lose a LOT of good people for lack of money, time or talent.

I think back to a comment made to us at our second event: "We need to talk to you about hemlines (my hemline was crooked); and to my husband "We need to talk to you about shoes" (he was wearing tennis shoes). Had I let those words bother me, we would be long gone.... had that same person offered to help me fix that hemline or tell us how to cover those offending tennis shoes cheaply, we would have been more appreciative and it would have been received a LOT more receptively.

It's not always what you say, but how you say it.

peace out



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com