Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-05-22 - 12:34 p.m.

It's all good

Okay, this is my second entry today, deal.

With the disaster drill supposedly taking place not far from my office, it's made me think today. About how thankful I am for what I have. They warned us yesterday that we might hear several large booms and there would be lots of people scurrying around the site (not far from the Fed. Building next door); and not to be too alarmed.

I didn't hear any loud noises or booms (at least I haven't so far); and the amount of hubub hasn't been bad, but it makes me think about (what else) September 11. My mind can't help but link the two.

That day had a profound effect. It's made me think about what I have and what I can lose in the blink of an eye.

So here's my list:

1. As selfish as it sounds, I'm thankful that no one I knew was hurt or killed back in September.

2. I'm thankful for the love that I have from my love.... just a couple of weeks ago he celebrated his fifth anniversary moving here. I asked him if he was happy here, if it felt like "home". He said it did. That's good, I'll take that.

3. I'm thankful for My friends. Over the past few weeks and months, we've discovered that we have a lot more friends than we ever thought. We had no idea. I always thought that a friend was someone you talk to on a regular basis and do things with, hang out with and etc. But that's not always how it goes. There are some people who are there in the shadows just waiting patiently, only too happy to help. We've been finding quite a few of those in the most unexpected places. That's good, I'll take that.

3. I'm thankful for my health. Yep, I'm blind as a bat, my knees are shot, my shoulder hurts, I'm insulin resistant, I've got PCOS and I'm fat. But I can get up, go to work, socialize with friends, work on projects and enjoy every day. I'm not perfect, but I'm good, and I'll take that.

4. I'm thankful for my dog. Yep, it sounds that stupid. But she was my first taste of unconditional love and affection it's pretty heady stuff. She's got about 12 years or so, so she's now middle aged, but she's mine. I'll gladly take whatever time she has left... it's all good... I'll take that.

5. Im thankful for my job. It's not a fun job, it's actually quite boring most of the time, and a lot of the time I'm surrounded by morons... but it pays the bills and makes it so we can buy a house and start to put down roots. Roots weren't always important to me, but now that my family "roots" are gone, I find myself wanting to settle a bit and take root. I could do more and earn more, but I'm happy here, and I'll take that.

6. I'm thankful for me. For the person I am, the person I was, and the person I will one day be. I'm the culmination of 36 years of work at this point, and hopefully I've got another 36 years or more to go. I am the sum of my experience and genes. There will be no one exactly like me in the history of the world. I'm a one of a kind. I'm an unfinished work of art, and I'm pretty good. I'll take that.

Up til that day, I took a lot for granted and spent a lot of time sweating the small stuff and working too hard for too little fun and being too frustrated.

That's changing little by little, and it's all good.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com