Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-04-22 - 10:14 a.m.

"It"

I'm going to take a page from Dame Ann and emphasize the positives.

What I learned this weekend:

1. Not everyone in fair Atlantia is courteous, but many are helpful!

2. Not all cabin mates are considerate, but crash space certainly makes up for the inconsideration of others.

3. Veils and underdresses really aren't that difficult or intimidating.

4. Babypowder, small fans and wet ones ROCK.

5. Being part of a household of like-minded, thoughtful and generous people is an incredible experience.

6. Pennsic "crack" (a.k.a. chocolate milk from the Cooper's Lake Store) tastes incredibly good whether it comes in April or August. Espcially when someone brings you a bottle just 'cause they were there and thought of you.

7. Gwyn looks really really awesome in a dress.

8. Briana can be a mystery all by herself, and we love her anyway (and miss her).

9. My love is a really funny smart-ass when the mood strikes (I knew this already, but I HAD to state the obvious.... something about jumping from foot to foot yelling "hot" "Hot" "hot" during a ATC boarding scenario (when he was told his ship was on fire).

10. Needle tatting, while not period, is portable and makes people wonder what you're doing.

I was going to write a huge diatribe on the lack of reasonable and courteous behavior of some of Atlantia's people, but then I realized I would much rather talk about the positives. The good fun that I had with friends, and the knowledge I acquired (thank you Theodora!)at the event far outweighed the negative so it was a GOOD event.

Up til this past year, I was never comfortable at events. Something didn't feel right. I couldn't put my finger on it, but there was something not right. My love and I learned to be somewhat self-reliant so it wasn't something tangible, but something was missing. I couldn't put my finger on it, and decided after a while, to just let "it" go and sooner or later, I'd figure out what "it" was. Well, I think I've figured "it" out. Friends.

This past year, the difference in events has been friends. Where it used to just be him and I, it's changed. and the change has been staggering. I've gotten closer to alot of people in the SCA from different paths, and households, and I'm so much better for it.

I was just amazed this weekend at the people who gave me hugs and were genuinely glad to see me. I'm always in awe of the friends I have.

Especially when I go to an event. I can have a week when I feel like no one likes me and everyone hates me, those days when I swear I hear my mother's voice with her "why would they want to be YOUR friend, they must want something?!" and then I go to an event and all that changes. Even though as far as Atlantia and the SCA are concerned, I'm a veritable nobody, in fact, most people who don't know me, just think of me as "gorm's wife"; likean extra appendage or something... but then there are the true friends..They are genuinely glad to see me, and I get a hug and a kiss, and ask how things are going and actually stand and listen to the answer. Those people make me feel warm (in a good way), and make me look forward to the next event. I'm never sure how to deal with it, so I just accept it, and it makes a tremenduous difference.

This was just an incredible weekend. Folks would pop over and say hi and sit for bit and talk or come and plop their stuff down and spend the day.

It occurred to me last night, as I was going over the weekend in my mind, what had changed...I used to almost dread events. They were hot, and sweaty and boring, and I was lonely. I couldn't walk around much, so I'd have to park myself and that wasn't much fun...then something changed.... Friends. I found friends. Friends who do a myriad of things and that's just too cool for words. I was calmer this weekend than I've ever been at an event. I felt like I really belonged there, not just "visiting".

I think I've finally found what "it" is.

See, I am learning!



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com