Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-04-17 - 9:13 a.m.

Favors

Today's topic is favors... not the ones you do for friends... these are things given to our Lords (and Ladies) by those of us in the SCA.

I remember the very first favor I made for my love.. I made it from beige satin and some brocade fabric. It was small and shield-shaped. It had belt loops, and an "R" on the outside. Inside the favor was a lock of my hair. The belt loops I had made were kinda small, and the favor was pretty tiny overall, but I had tried my best to make something spectacular for him. I wanted him to be proud to be my Lord.. I was trying for the "courtly love" type of thing. Little did I know then that my love isn't really one of those types of people, as much as I'd like him to be.

The favor got lost a few times... I found it in the bottom of his nasty armor tub a few times and the straw that broke the camel's back was when I found it on the front porch of our house and saw that it had Pennsic marshall's paint on it.

Now, I could take this opportunity to rail against the marshalls for nothin being careful where they put their spray paint, or at my husband for not being more thoughtful. But I won't.

I've just come to the realization that as much as I love him, he's not here for the favors and courtly love and he's in the society to fight because he really wants to, not because he fights for my honor, as it was first explained to me.

What I will say is that when I kept finding the favor in careless places, it bothered me, but I said nothing. He was enjoying himself at what he was doing, which was enough in and of itself for me. He was having fun.

When I found it on the porch, I said nothing and threw it away. I decided then that if he wanted MY favor and someday wanted to fight for my honor, he would have to ask me for my favor, since I made the first one for him without being asked.

He has a small strip of blue and white weaving I gave him in a hurry before a battle once; it was part of a belt I was wearing at the time that I'd woven myself on my inkle loom.

But that's nothing more than a scrap of fabric, not a FAVOR.

I'm not entirely sure when it goes from a scrap of fabric to a favor. I somehow had the strange belief that when you put your time and energy into making it, it would turn out to be something incredible, and it would somehow be imbued with special magical powers or something (now you're gonna ask me what it would do... I have no clue.. inspire the one who wears it to fits of courtly love and outward devotion, perhaps???? naaaaaaaa).



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com