Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-03-27 - 2:47 p.m.

Diabetes--YICK

Well, I think we're on the trail to finding out what my major malfunction is. Remember the glucose tolerance test I took last week? Well, the results are back, and to say they're less than perfect would be an understatement. Now I'm not really sure what all of this means other than I think i'm a Type II diabetic (I'll know more tomorrow when I actually talk to the doctor)... but for the medical people out there, here are the results (any comments via e-mail are welcome)

The normal range for glucose level is supposed to be 64-126. My first test started out at 101, an hour later it was 198 and at the two hour mark it was 226.

As for the insulin ranges, the normal is 0-22; the initial one was 35.7, at the one hour mark it was 38.5, at the 2 hour mark it was 122.0, and the final one at the three hour mark is 125.4.

This is one of the tests for people with PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome); which explains a lot and what I've been telling doctors for years. It seems to gel that's for sure.

My doctor mentioned giving me metformin to help with the weight and diabetes; and I'm guessing at this point that I'm going to have to do a diet modification, which won't be easy. From what I've been able to read today it should be a low fat, low carbohydrate and low salt diet (in short, no taste); the metformin is a "quick fix" while I work on losing the weight.

I'll know more when I talk to him either this evening or sometime tomorrow; but like I said, at least a lot more things make sense now.

This is gonna suck, but it has to happen. I hope I can do it. I have lots of willpower, just not much won't power. (insert frowny face here).



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com