Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-12 - 3:31 p.m.

The boom

Okay.. this a re-write of the post I left earlier today. I can't figure out the right words here, I want to write a letter to ex-jerk Governor Gilmore, I want to tell my soon to be ex-boss to kiss my ass; I want to be positively evil and smash things, but instead, here I am.

To Ex Governor Gilmore and Governor Warner: Gov'r Gilmore: You are a creep and not a nice person. You made your shining moment on the backs of employees who mean nothing to you. You decreased the car tax and you decreased other taxes as well, knowing full well that the damage wouldn't be discovered until after your tenure was over; so the blame falls to Warner, not where it belongs.. squarely on your shoulders.

Governor Warner: My paltry $23,370 a year salary can't be more than a drop in the bucket when you look at the whole picture. To you, I'm not a person or an employee, I am a number to you and my contributions that I've made by my hard work and my work ethic count for nothing.

I am one of the 2100 to be laid off. I found out today that my job will be abolished. They are giving me 60 days from today to find something new, and while Human Resources will help me as much as they can, I can't help but wonder what you would do, should your job suddenly come to an end. How would you react?

Some of us work HARD during the work hours. Some of us take pride in what we do and we have a good work ethic. We trust the ones who are our bosses to protect us and our jobs. We want to feel safe, We want to not be lied to or told half-truths.

To my boss: I trusted you. You lied to me. You promised me and my co-workers that I had nothing to worry about this soon into it. That we probably had about a year or so before that would trickle down to me. I was your secretary, you had an obligation to tell me what was going on, but you chose not to (and please, don't tell me it was for "legal reasons", you know you could have told me). Calling me at home yesterday to be sure I'd be in to be laid off was just plain mean and inconsiderate. How dare you treat me like that, then turn around and tell me that I've been a valued and hard-working employee and you appreciated my loyalty to the Division. I had loyalty to you and the division, you didn't bother to return the favor... screw you.

You came back into the office from your "meeting" (I suspect you were cowering somewhere waiting for the Dean to do your dirty work); you were happy and cheerful trying to make small talk. You just helped him devastate my life with little thought from you and you expected me to be cheerful and carry on as if nothing happened. Something did happen, you and the Dean pulled the rug out from under me and you expect me to do a good job.

When you realize it's going to take me some time, you "generously" offer me a couple of days off, then off-handedly mention that while I'm gone you and the other two secretaries are going to have a meeting and discuss how to divide up my duties. I know it has to happen, but geez... do you have to do it same day I get the letter, and do you HAVE to tell me about it right now???

My world just landed with a splat! Can't it wait a couple of weeks?

Then you get all concerned when I told you I had already emailed some of the faculty about writing letters of recommendations for me. You wanted to be sure I didn't give them "false ideas" I got laid off for crying out loud, what sort of false idea could I give them? I told them the truth. That's the type of person I am. I told them my job had been "abolished", That *is* the truth, isn't it?

I realize that I will find another job, and it will probably be better than the one I have now. That's how this usually goes. But I wonder if I'm ever going to feel all that safe again jobwise. It took me 2.5 years this time; I saw the writing on the wall, and told people, but everyone said I was paranoid.

So, those of you out there explain something to me.... this past summer they created a job in the office across the hall (it's part of our division); and they moved someone over there from the copy center. That job is still there, but mine is being abolished. That makes no sense to me.

So.. the crux of all this typing is this... Is there anyone out there who needs a secretary with 17 years of experience (9 of it with the Commonwealth of Virginia)???? Feel free to email me (and to the perverts out there, no, I'm not into "kinky secretary things").

Okay, enough railing at the world and life in general, it's time to go pick up hubby and drown my sorrows in some ice cream or something equally as fattening.

Nope, we won't be at fight practice tonight, I'm not in the mood to deal with people tonight, I hope ya'll understand why there won't be a gorm and rhiannon sighting tonight.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com