Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-06 - 9:49 a.m.

Households continued

In response to my gracious Lord's entry today:

I remember the party you spoke about. I was thankful to some degree that I wasn't feeling well and I had an early out. I appreciated the fact that our friends invited us there, but you're right, it felt as if I was missing an important set of skills that I had no clue about. I felt like a 12 year old at my first dance.

I agree with you that if you're a squire or an apprentice or a protegee you get a certain amount of credibility, but after that, it's up to you.. but that built-in credibility goes a long way. It does grant you a way in to learn the fine arts of social games.

People respect other people for their skills and abilities, and in the S.C.A. that means their heavy fighting abilities or their A&S abilities. If you're not a heavy fighter and your A&S still needs work, you are below the radar, and therefore sometimes screwed.

In the defense of others, my love and I came into the S.C.A. during a very trying time in our local group. At that point, they were very mistrusting of new people and extremely insular. We felt more on the outside than truly welcome to stick around. We stuck it out though, and after a while, we became like the furniture. We got active in the group (sometimes in very thankless ways); and we've worked our behinds off to be helpful, curteous, kind, thrifty, brave and all those other boyscout-like qualities.

We've done our best to try and be good neighbors, and we've tried to bring other people into the SCA fold as well, some have worked and some haven't. We've met roadblocks at many turns and it's been damned frustrating at times. I've seriously come close to quitting and having a bonfire in the backyard quite a few times. I guess I'm just too stubborn to give up.

But the truth is, if you're not part of a household, no matter what you do you're forgotten like a mug left at event. You know where it is, and evenutally you'll get back to it, at some point.

I've been looking for that remedial class Gorm spoke of on his page, and I sure can't find it. I've found some great people to emulate and respect try to be like but as I've said before, when you don't have the "in" it's hard to learn those skills; and at times you feel like a social pariah, and it leaves you wondering what you did or didn't do.



Please don't forget to answer my
survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com