Direction
Mooest
Old Moos
Moo to Me
Go to Diaryland
Sign My Guestbook!

Read My Profile

Rivers Point Webpage

Favorite URLs
Light a candle
<
My Trading Card

Pictures
The Family
More Furfamily pictures

Quizzes
Prince or Princess
Star Wars Test
100 Acre Wood Test
What Element am I
What Mythical Creature am I
Political Affiliation
Peanuts Character
Atlantian Duke

My Words
One Nation. . .
My Best Day
MY Journey
2002 Retrospection
Let There Be Peace
War Pictures

Best Stolen Stuff
Frodo Has Failed


Archived Pages
Entry 501-Present
Entry 401-500
Entry 301-400
Entry 201-300
Entry 101-200
Entry 1-100



Last Five Entries

link to Diary

Moved to LiveJournal

What to say

Peterson is found guilty

Veteran's Day and an Etiquette Question


2002-02-04 - 10:15 p.m.

Aveloc, An Tir and my say

Over the past few days, I've been reading the response of a few members of our Kingdom about the Aveloc and An Tir. I won't go into an explanation of what's going on, it would take far longer than I have time to write.

Suffice it to say that as far as Aveloc is concerned, what based on the comments that I've seen in the emails and the first-hand accounts of a few people, he deserved what he got. A level three Banishment is what he deserved. He flaunted his pretend position to authority (i.e. police) and he basically tried to force himself on a few people who did not want his advances. Basically, no means no in both areas. He chose not to listen, the BoD did what they needed to do to separate themselves from someone who may very well couse massive problems in publicity and legal issues, both are which are something we don't need.

As for the AnTir crown and the BoD's ruling on making single combat the only way to determine a King: Let me say that I am not a heavy fighter, my Lord is considering taking up arms to fight heavy again, but that is his choice, I support whatever he chooses to do with a happy heart and my favor. Now, right or wrong, these are my thoughts and mine alone.

Okay.. I'll grant you that the possibility of me ever being a consort of someone trying to be King is slim to none. So you could probably say that I don't know what I'm talking about; and you'd probably be right. But it my estimation and opinion, nothing makes people behave better to others than when they know they'll have to get them onto their side to get what they want.

I've been to crown tournament, and I've seen some things on the fighting field that I question. Winning crown tournament is the "be-all, end-all for most fighters, and I can understand that. There are those who will do just about anything to get there. I truly believe that if we in Atlantia had single combat up to the last two men standing and after that it was the best two out of three melee scenarios it would make people think.

I was told that when you fight, you fight for your lady's honor, regardless of whether it's single combat or melee. You are supposed to keep your lady's honor foremost in your mind and with that, do nothing that would besmirch your lady's honor. If you are the last two in the single combat, haven't you already proven what you feel for your Lady and her Honor?

Heading a Melee can show more than being the "swiftest stick" it shows how they command, how they work with others, what people truly think of them as a fighter and a human being. Perhaps that is what people are most afraid of.

I think each Kingdom should have the right to choose their King by COMBAT, whether it be single or melee or a combination of single, melee and chess. As long as the general public (i.e. the subjects of a particular kingdom) are fine with it, who are we to scoff?

I know there is a Kingdom out there that awards a "Knightship" for service. That's not Atlantia's way, but does that make their Knight, any less than ours? A Knight is a Knight, a King is a King; end of story.



Please don't forget to answer my survey... it's research for a small business idea... all comments appreciated, no reasonable offer refused!!! It won't take five minutes, I PROMISE!




For Matt, come home safe and sound! We miss you!


Subscribe to atlantianweavers
Powered by groups.yahoo.com